Lan Adapter HIT-0300 with 16MB SDRAM

Discussion in 'Sega Dreamcast Development and Research' started by Ivan GR, May 10, 2019.

  1. Ivan GR

    Ivan GR Rising Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    121
    In this photo you can see that the Lan Adapter has an additional SDRAM, the photo is taken from the site http://users.skynet.be/t_chan/dc/dc_modems.xhtml#modems_lan
    [​IMG]
    In site http://jj1odm.sizious.com/g2bus.html#hit0300_clone on the HIT-0300 original Block Diagram i don't see SDRAM.
    [​IMG]
    So to be sure to SDRAM has in HIT-0300, need to owners of the LAN Adapter HIT-0300 to disassemble and photograph the inside of the adapter. To look has SDRAM or not on Lan Adapter.

    SWAT has a plan to use this extra memory in Dreamshell.
    More info here: http://www.dc-swat.ru/forum/thread-3569-post-38618.html#pid38618
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2019
    fafadou, LuizNai, pool7 and 3 others like this.
  2. T_chan

    T_chan Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    65
    I'd be glad to help, but you already got all my photos from my website, so not sure if I can help :)
     
    pool7 likes this.
  3. MastaG

    MastaG Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2015
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    37
    It would be nice if somebody would start producing these lan adapters then :)
     
    fafadou and Anthony817 like this.
  4. MetalliC

    MetalliC Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    132
    I think main question was: is it known if every HIT-0300 LAN adapter equipped with 16Mbyte RAM, or only some earlier/proto revisions ?
    we also honestly wondering why there so much of RAM ? 16Mbyte was quite expensive at that time, so there should be some serious reason why it there.
     
    Anthony817 and Ivan GR like this.
  5. T_chan

    T_chan Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    65
    Good question... not 100% sure in fact I took the photo of a "real" HIT-300 LAN adapter, since there is no sticker at all on the outside shell... might be a prototype indeed.
     
  6. Anthony817

    Anthony817 Familiar Face

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    593
    Very cool find! Would be great if this could be reverse engineered to make a addon board that only has the extra ram. If there was one area that was seriously lacking on the DC hardware it was the amount of ram. Half-Life and a few other games are seriously bottlenecked due to lack of memory. Obviously if something like this were to be reverse engineered, the games would have to most likely be patched to take advantage of the extra memory if they could even be made to utilize it at all like how the modded OG Xboxes are with added memory.
     
    Ivan GR likes this.
  7. MetalliC

    MetalliC Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    132
    use in games - I'm not sure, it is not that fast, G2 bus max DMA rate is about 25Mbyte/sec.
    for comparison, main RAM @100Mhz x64bit ~800Mbyte/sec.
     
    LuizNai, pool7 and Anthony817 like this.
  8. Anthony817

    Anthony817 Familiar Face

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    593
    Well if it's that slow, perhaps they were just using it to be able to load larger web pages or something? There must be some reason they added that much memory to the device.
     
  9. darcagn

    darcagn Site Supporter 2013, Site Supporter 2014

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    281
    Sorry to take a crap on the fun, but yes, it is just a prototype version.
    Real version is a single board and only 32KB of memory

    I just disassembled mine and took a photograph here: https://dcemulation.org/?title=File:Hit300.jpg

    EDIT: @T_chan feel free to add my photographs to your page if you desire
     
    fafadou, Ivan GR, LuizNai and 5 others like this.
  10. T_chan

    T_chan Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    65
    Cool, thanks for the info & the photographs, will do so... and I'll correct the text.
    ... makes the thing I have more special :)
     
    LuizNai, darcagn and Anthony817 like this.
  11. Dreamcast

    Dreamcast Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    89
    I'll check and see if I can find out what the RAM size is on the development LAN adapter in my Dev.Box.
     
  12. Mrneo240

    Mrneo240 Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    606
    are you the same darc i spoke with earlier?
     
  13. darcagn

    darcagn Site Supporter 2013, Site Supporter 2014

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    281
    Yes, depending on the site I go by |darc|, darc, darcagn, or darcagent
    I also go by darcLinkDC on r/dreamcast (you asked me about your white label the other day :) )
     
  14. Dreamcast

    Dreamcast Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    89
    The Dev.Box LAN ("Lanmaru for Set 5") uses the following:

    Winbond W24257AS-35 (32K x 8)
    MB86967 LAN Controller
    Altera (rest is obscured by sticker with "v 096" hand written on it (unlike the printed one on Darcagn's), so it's running retail firmware going by Darcagn's picture)
     

Share This Page