Katana (HKT-01) "Failed to detect debug support"

Discussion in 'Sega Dreamcast Development and Research' started by Headcrab, Aug 11, 2018.

  1. Headcrab

    Headcrab (BigEvilCorporation)

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    67
    Hi!

    This Katana was working, and now it's not. The DA-Check tool complains of:

    Code:
    Failed to detect debug support
    SALSA report error <SALSA DACON: The full stub failed to load/reset>
    SCSI interface is AHA-2940W, on Windows 2000, with Katana SDK r10.

    This machine was working last year when I was doing development on it, but it's been in storage, and now it is not.

    Things I've tried so far:
    • Reflash D.A. (using the DA-Check tool, DBFlash won't let me get that far, same error in log)
    • Updating SCSI drivers (aspi32.exe)
    • Tear down and rebuilt the kit to check for damage (can't see anything)
    • Re-seated all removable chips on the board
    • Dumped the EPROM, burned image to a fresh M27C160
    • Tried another host PC
    Any tips?

    Cheers
     
    TerdFerguson likes this.
  2. T_chan

    T_chan Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    65
  3. Headcrab

    Headcrab (BigEvilCorporation)

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    67
    I'll give 11 a go - although I was definitely using 10 in the past.

    Yes, both the Katana and GD-M show up on the bus. Windows device manager also shows them as mounted.

    I also bit the bullet and ordered another SCSI card, and new terminators. The card wasn't in the machine whilst it was stored away, it was just left out, it may have had a knock or two. I'll run through the SCSI settings from scratch when it arrives.
     
    TerdFerguson likes this.
  4. Jackhead

    Jackhead Site Soldier

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,434
    Likes Received:
    612
    You found a solution for your problem?
     
  5. Syclopse

    Syclopse .

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    538
    Change the date to 2005 or something? In the past I've seen software not launch and a simple date change on the PC host resolved it.
     
  6. Ioncannon

    Ioncannon Rising Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    16
    When you exit da-check you have the option to factory reset. Did you try that? Also try setting to OS Mode if possible. The stub seems to be debug related.
     

Share This Page