Is it normal that DTL-H10000 shows SCPH-10000 in version info screen?

Discussion in 'Sony Programming and Development' started by SONIC3D, Oct 1, 2013.

  1. SONIC3D

    SONIC3D Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    36
    I recently got a PS2 Test Kit DTL-H10000 from my friend.But it shows SCPH-10000 in version info screen.
    It plays Japanese retail and part of my burnt disc well(Cannot confirm if they are master disc patched...).
    But when I disassembled it there is no mod chip.

    Is it normal that DTL-H10000 shows SCPH-10000 in version info screen?
    And if it is.How can I determine that the kit is DTL series without disassembling it?

    Thanks a lot.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2013
  2. sp193

    sp193 Site Soldier

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,232
    Likes Received:
    1,072
    Retail consoles will not boot burned discs of any sort, not even master discs. There isn't a mod that will allow any retail PlayStation 2 console of any sort to boot burned discs permanently without hardware modifications (Software like ESR doesn't count because it merely works around the hardware limitations).

    From searching around this forum, it seems like there are DTL-H10000 units that report themselves as SCPH-10000 units.

    I think that if you run PS2Ident on it, the MECHACON version data should be slightly different from a SCPH-10000's. The reported ROM version should be different as well, as it should report itself as a DEX unit instead of CEX.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2013
  3. SONIC3D

    SONIC3D Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    36
    Thank you so much,sp193.
    I found your tool is really cool!!!!! :D
     
  4. cde

    cde Site Supporter 2017

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    15
    Yes, all the DTL-H10000 i've had show SCPH-10000 in the system version screen. They will play ALL region PS1 games (PAL will be offset as console is native NTSC J) and ALL region "mastered" backups and ONLY NTSC J retail PS2 games. The reason is that SCPH/DTL-10000's models were Japanese launch models, and NTSC U and PAL regions for the PS2 weren't around then. The US and Europe got SCPH/DTL-30000 launch models, so no booting pressed PS2 imports on a DTL-10000. You will need a DTL-3000X or newer.

    Also,

    DTL-H10000. No HDD OSD Support (Browser 2.0 won't/can't boot. No MagicGate decryption)
    DTL-H3000X. No HDD OSD Support (Browser 2.0 won't/can't boot. No MagicGate decryption)
    DTL-H30X0X. Possible HDD OSD Support with MagicGate dev memory card (never owned a 30X0X console or card)
    DTL-H5000X. Full HDD OSD Support

    ..Oh, and no DVD movie playback on any DTL models..
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2013
  5. Tokimemofan

    Tokimemofan Dauntless Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    79
    DTL-H30X0X WILL work with HDD-OSD AND PSBBN, My DTL-H30101 has PSBBN 0.32 and the English version of Final Fantasy XI on it, and the Japanese Playonline Viewer. So it'll also pass DNAS on a retail game too
     

Share This Page