I soft modded my oringal Xbox now I get a yellow ring but...

Discussion in 'Xbox (Original console)' started by hugh, Jan 8, 2019.

1. hugh

hugh Robust Member

I soft modded my original Xbox now the green light turns yellow (orange?) when the new soft mod kicks in and stays that way until I restart the machine and then it starts all over again.

Did I break my machine? Everything seems to work, I can play games and stuff.. But then again I haven't done much with it since I soft modded the unit. I'm still learning on what I can do with the machine now.

Thanks! :)

=hugh

2. notataco64

notataco64 Spirited Member

If you can play games, you're safe. What dash are you running? XBMC for example allows you to switch between green, red, orange, or a cycle of the three.

3. hugh

hugh Robust Member

I believe it's XBMC. How do you change the colors? I haven't managed to figure that out..

Side question: I downloaded an emulator, how do I put it on the xbox? I am assuming I FTP into the unit, but what I don't understand is how to get it to show up under the emulator on the main dashboard. I don't see a folder for emulators there, yet there is one for it on the dashboard. Very confusing to me.. :/

=hugh

4. obcd

obcd Spirited Member

Most dashboard use configuration files that contain the folders they should search for emulators / games / media.
    Some dashboards like unleash even don't scan the folders at every boot but only if you request them to do so (as it takes some time)
    So basically, try to get ftp going first and have a look at your dashboard folder. configuration files are usually xml files.
    E:\games and F:\games is where you should place your game backups. E:\emulators or F:\emulators might be a good candidate for those. If the folder doesn't exist, you can create it, either in the dashboard or over the ftp link. I use winscp under windows for my ftp transfers. It's free and easy to use.

5. Blob

Blob Rapidly Rising Member