[How To] Use the Katana SDK on Windows 7

Discussion in 'Sega Dreamcast Development and Research' started by T_chan, Jan 30, 2010.

  1. T_chan

    T_chan Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    55
    That's not normal.
    At least, I don't have that & I also use a 2940 card.
    Maybe a specific setting on your scsi card is doing that ?
    If you go to the bios of your scsi card, note all settings & post them on the board, we could compare settings.
     
  2. Woofmute

    Woofmute Site Supporter 2013-15, 17

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    40
    I've attached images of my settings.

    IMG_1683.jpg
    IMG_1684.jpg
    IMG_1685.jpg
    IMG_1686.jpg
     
  3. T_chan

    T_chan Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    55
    (I have utility version 1.23 installed on my card)

    main Screen: scsi parity checking is enabled for me

    boot device cfg screen: identical

    scsi device cfg screen:
    DSC_0518b.jpg

    advanced cfg option
    DSC_0519b.jpg
     
  4. Woofmute

    Woofmute Site Supporter 2013-15, 17

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    40
    I've changed my settings to match yours, and I believe the problem with mine was initiating sync negotiation on SCSI device #4. It now boots properly, thank you!
     
  5. T_chan

    T_chan Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    55
    Glad I could help, and glad to know the info... another mystery of the devkit set-up that is solved :)
     
  6. Woofmute

    Woofmute Site Supporter 2013-15, 17

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    40
    You're welcome!

    Does the drag and drop feature of GD Workshop function for you on Windows 7?
     
  7. T_chan

    T_chan Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    55
    I don't remember ever having problems with it, but it has been a long while since I last used GD Workshop....

    What kind of problems do you have ?
     
  8. Woofmute

    Woofmute Site Supporter 2013-15, 17

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    40
    The only way for me to add files is to use the add files option which only allows so many files at once, or for me to use the included script in the GDWorkshop folder. I can't drag and drop files from windows explorer into a track. I'm not sure you're supposed to be able to, but it's mentioned in the help files that you can just drag and drop files into the project...
    This makes it incredibly time consuming to build some projects.
     
  9. kuze

    kuze Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    6
    Disable UAC
     
  10. Woofmute

    Woofmute Site Supporter 2013-15, 17

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    40
    Thank you! That should be everything sorted properly now.
     
  11. RedRingRico

    RedRingRico Rising Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    28
    Hey, guys. I'm trying to get my Windows 7 x86_64 machine to work with a Katana and have hit a road block. When I try and run anything that communicates with the development kit, I get an error that the ASPI layer is not initialised. I have copied the wnaspi32.dll from MekugiAspi 0.2 to the Debug Adapter Checker directory. UAC is enabled and I ran Debug Adapter Checker as an Administrator. Below (under the spoiler) I have posted images of my configuration, the error from Debug Adapter Checker, and the DA.log file.

    Device Manager
    [​IMG]

    Windows Explorer
    [​IMG]

    Adaptec 2940U Configuration
    Main Configuration Screen
    [​IMG]
    Boot Device Configuration
    [​IMG]
    SCSI Device Configuration
    [​IMG]
    Advanced Configuration
    [​IMG]
    Devices
    [​IMG]
    Boot Time Screen
    [​IMG]

    Debug Adapter Checker
    [​IMG]

    DA.log
    Code:
    DA-Check v2.32
    Date (D/M/Y)  22 / 04 / 2016,  Time 21:37:29.
    Initialize SALSA Library
    ERROR ! SALSA FAILED TO INITIALIZE
    SALSA error report <ASPI: ASPI layer not initialised (ASPI_Inited == FALSE)>
    Exiting DA-Check.

    If there's anything I missed that would be helpful for diagnosing the problem, please let me know. Thanks.
     
  12. T_chan

    T_chan Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    55
    hmm... your setup looks good.
    You can always try with mekugiaspi 0.1 to see if that changes anything...
     
  13. RedRingRico

    RedRingRico Rising Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    28
    Unfortunately, I already tried 0.1, too =/. It's really very strange. I'm thinking of installing Windows 7 on a spare HDD and seeing if that helps.

    It's really not an immediate concern of mine, it's just that the Windows XP machine I'm using randomly (or seemingly so) presents some kind of GPU issue (the screen freezes and columns of garbage scroll downward). This only happens when I have the development kit connected, such as GD Workshop or CodeScape running. I may try different GPU drivers and see if that helps. I also have a Windows 2000 machine that doesn't have this issue so it could be a hardware thing.
     
  14. T_chan

    T_chan Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    55
    The devkit works fine on the Windows 2000 machine ? With the same scsi card ?
    (just trying to exclude some possible factors...)
     
  15. RedRingRico

    RedRingRico Rising Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    28
    I'll have to swap the SCSI cards and see if that fixes it. If not, then I'll try a new installation of Windows 7. It could very well be the problem as I haven't tested the card in anything other than the PC it's currently in.
     
  16. T_chan

    T_chan Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    55
    Keep me posted - I'm interested to understand the cause of the problem :)
     
  17. RedRingRico

    RedRingRico Rising Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    28
    I decided to install Windows 7 to another drive before exchanging the SCSI cards. I followed the guide here and it all worked just fine.

    I think it could have been the driver I used for the SCSI card. I can't remember how I got it, but I know it wasn't the one you linked. No idea why the one here didn't install on my original Windows 7 drive =/. I'm going to try and use the driver from the link with my original Windows 7 drive again and see if it will cooperate. Though I may just use the new Windows 7 install anyway as it's nice to have a dedicated development environment =P.

    In any case, thanks for the great replacement DLL =D.
     
  18. RedRingRico

    RedRingRico Rising Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    28
    This is strange. I re-installed the driver on the original Windows 7 drive and it is still broken. I changed the boot order to put the SCSI card last among the hard drives after I put all of the drives back in to get the machine to boot from the correct drive, then changed it back to SCSI card first. Unfortunately neither putting the SCSI card first or last seemed to have any impact.

    Here's the working log:
    Code:
    DA-Check v2.32
    Date (D/M/Y)  29 / 04 / 2016,  Time 19:07:30.
    Initialize SALSA Library
    SALSA Lib 1.40 : Build Ver. 1.40 built on Jul 16 1999 @ 10:22:20
    All SCSI devices detected on bus...
    HOST 0 : SCSI ID 0 TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S223C  SB01  , Type [5], SALSA Type [0]
    HOST 0 : SCSI ID 1 No Device.
    HOST 0 : SCSI ID 2 No Device.
    HOST 0 : SCSI ID 3 No Device.
    HOST 0 : SCSI ID 4 No Device.
    HOST 0 : SCSI ID 5 No Device.
    HOST 0 : SCSI ID 6 No Device.
    HOST 0 : SCSI ID 7 No Device.
    HOST 1 : SCSI ID 0 No Device.
    HOST 1 : SCSI ID 1 No Device.
    HOST 1 : SCSI ID 2 No Device.
    HOST 1 : SCSI ID 3 No Device.
    HOST 1 : SCSI ID 4 No Device.
    HOST 1 : SCSI ID 5 No Device.
    HOST 1 : SCSI ID 6 No Device.
    HOST 1 : SCSI ID 7 No Device.
    HOST 2 : SCSI ID 0 No Device.
    HOST 2 : SCSI ID 1 No Device.
    HOST 2 : SCSI ID 2 No Device.
    HOST 2 : SCSI ID 3 No Device.
    HOST 2 : SCSI ID 4 No Device.
    HOST 2 : SCSI ID 5 No Device.
    HOST 2 : SCSI ID 6 No Device.
    HOST 2 : SCSI ID 7 No Device.
    HOST 3 : SCSI ID 0 No Device.
    HOST 3 : SCSI ID 1 No Device.
    HOST 3 : SCSI ID 2 No Device.
    HOST 3 : SCSI ID 3 No Device.
    HOST 3 : SCSI ID 4 No Device.
    HOST 3 : SCSI ID 5 No Device.
    HOST 3 : SCSI ID 6 No Device.
    HOST 3 : SCSI ID 7 No Device.
    HOST 4 : SCSI ID 0 No Device.
    HOST 4 : SCSI ID 1 No Device.
    HOST 4 : SCSI ID 2 No Device.
    HOST 4 : SCSI ID 3 No Device.
    HOST 4 : SCSI ID 4 No Device.
    HOST 4 : SCSI ID 5 No Device.
    HOST 4 : SCSI ID 6 No Device.
    HOST 4 : SCSI ID 7 No Device.
    HOST 5 : SCSI ID 0 No Device.
    HOST 5 : SCSI ID 1 No Device.
    HOST 5 : SCSI ID 2 No Device.
    HOST 5 : SCSI ID 3 No Device.
    HOST 5 : SCSI ID 4 No Device.
    HOST 5 : SCSI ID 5 No Device.
    HOST 5 : SCSI ID 6 No Device.
    HOST 5 : SCSI ID 7 No Device.
    HOST 6 : SCSI ID 0 No Device.
    HOST 6 : SCSI ID 1 No Device.
    HOST 6 : SCSI ID 2 No Device.
    HOST 6 : SCSI ID 3 No Device.
    HOST 6 : SCSI ID 4 No Device.
    HOST 6 : SCSI ID 5 No Device.
    HOST 6 : SCSI ID 6 No Device.
    HOST 6 : SCSI ID 7 No Device.
    HOST 7 : SCSI ID 0 No Device.
    HOST 7 : SCSI ID 1 No Device.
    HOST 7 : SCSI ID 2 No Device.
    HOST 7 : SCSI ID 3 No Device.
    HOST 7 : SCSI ID 4 No Device.
    HOST 7 : SCSI ID 5 No Device.
    HOST 7 : SCSI ID 6 No Device.
    HOST 7 : SCSI ID 7 No Device.
    Searching for Katatna DA's.
    No DA's found
    Exiting DA-Check.
    
    Unfortunately, booting into the new Windows 7 drive seems to have deactivated my original Windows 7 installation, so I'm going to reboot into the new installation, make sure it isn't all the added drives that have messed it up, and hope that it doesn't deactivate Windows again. Another alternative method I have is a Windows XP x64 installation on a drive in the machine. I'll be back in a while (installing updates that have come up since last August, which was when I used Windows on this machine).

    EDIT:
    I'm not sure if this is an issue, but I have three partitions on this drive: Windows XP x64, Windows 7, and Gentoo. Removing all but this drive, I still get issues with the Katana. I'm going to see if removing the volumes from Explorer helps at all.

    EDIT 2:
    I think I've fixed it. All I had to do was assign the Katana to the D drive, higher than the rest of the assigned volumes. It's working just fine, now.

    EDIT 3:
    Well, I was wrong. I should have tested more thoroughly. No matter which configuration I choose, if there are any fixed drives, it won't work. I've resorted to mounting drives in a directory, which does work. It's not the nicest solution, but it does work. Also, mounting USB drives messes up GD Workshop, but that happened before, anyway.
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2016
  19. T_chan

    T_chan Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    55
    Glad to see it works with a clean install && with your fix :)
    Strange that it would need a higher drive letter...
    I've had several external drives with letters higher than the katana, without problems...
    Anyhow, you can continue developping now :)
     
  20. T_chan

    T_chan Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    55
    How does it mess up GD Workshop ?
     

Share This Page