How to import the translated PC version of Grandia 2 into the Dreamcast version?

Discussion in 'Sega Dreamcast Development and Research' started by fafadou, Nov 20, 2017.

  1. yzb37859365

    yzb37859365 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    124
    The first question, I don't understand what you mean.

    The second problem is to modify the original program, probably in the FIELD.BIN file, and I have not changed the place.
     
    fafadou likes this.
  2. fafadou

    fafadou Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    195
    I'll try to explain better, sorry for my bad english :

    There are two minor problems yet :

    - First is to them is in the shops like 5824.AFS manage, you have a list of stuff you can buy/sell. Inside the afs the first file 01.l62c you have this :
    [​IMG]
    If I translate Armor in french, it's translate by "Armure", during the game in this shop manages by this AFS. I will have only "rmure" the "A" will missing... because I have one more letter than english.
    we have the same problem with "Items" translating by "Objets" and one more letter... Weapons and Jewelry, in french we have less letters so it's fine.
    Have you find an issue for that ?

    - The second one, in the field.bin like you have rightly understand, we don't have find yet the size of highlighted select zone ; so we have :
    [​IMG]
    In english "Run" is translate by "Courir" and the highlighted zone select only three letters. How could we change the size for having 5 letters select ? I wish to have "Courir" in green completely.

    I hope it's better this time thanks for your help.
     
  3. truemaster1

    truemaster1 Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    231
    i had the same issue then i translate the vmu location names. dont know is its the same fix here but try to type the armure value a bit right if that wont work and you end up read armur that means the avaible bytes for this text are fewer than the expected ones. and posibly a diferend hack is needed
     
    fafadou likes this.
  4. fafadou

    fafadou Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    195
    thanks, I'll try it :)

    Here the import of hardmode from anniversary edition of grandia 2 in 2015.

    I had import all the hardmode datas for enemies and boss and some new files which didn't exist in grandia 2 dreamcast release.

    Perhaps you will notice some very little small new details ^^

    I corrected some little things in sys.afs, for me some details are hidden in the hardmode original release (like the detail list of magics) and I decided to keep them because the experience will be less good for me and the game hard enough.
    the mainscreen title had been changed with grandia 2 anniversary edition and the texts are in hd imported. Finally I replace the press start boutton yellow by a blue one hidden in the data dreamcast and never used !
    It runs with dreamshell and gemu usb gdrom and emulators.
    http://frd.li/ab338cebf55138efa661c13d055edeb6


    Still continue the french translation hope yzb may help on those inconveniences explain above.
     
  5. fafadou

    fafadou Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    195
    I try your advice, @truemaster1 , unfortunately the game crash if I write more on the right.
    It must be have a length somewhere but I don't know how to find it...

    Anyway thanks for answering :)
     
    truemaster1 likes this.
  6. truemaster1

    truemaster1 Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    231
    looks like the length is set from somewere else then.
     
  7. yzb37859365

    yzb37859365 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    124
    upload you file.bin
     
    fafadou likes this.
  8. fafadou

    fafadou Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    195
  9. yzb37859365

    yzb37859365 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    124
    I dnot open mega
     
  10. zouzzz

    zouzzz Site Supporter 2013

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    56
  11. yzb37859365

    yzb37859365 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    124
    SORRY,I dnot open this lineo_O
     
  12. megavolt85

    megavolt85 Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    472
  13. DeChief

    DeChief Rustled.

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    712
    Could you be any pickier?

    [​IMG]
     
    takeshi385 likes this.
  14. yzb37859365

    yzb37859365 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    124
  15. DeChief

    DeChief Rustled.

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    712
  16. megavolt85

    megavolt85 Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    472
    fafadou likes this.
  17. DeChief

    DeChief Rustled.

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    712
    If he still doesn't like that, then maybe try mediafire?
     
  18. fafadou

    fafadou Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    195
    Last edited: May 5, 2018
  19. fafadou

    fafadou Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    195
    Last edited: May 5, 2018
  20. yzb37859365

    yzb37859365 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    124
    file.bin
    address :0x7120c Modify the data in this place

    [​IMG]
     
    fafadou likes this.

Share This Page