How to import the translated PC version of Grandia 2 into the Dreamcast version?

Discussion in 'Sega Dreamcast Development and Research' started by fafadou, Nov 20, 2017.

  1. fafadou

    fafadou Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    148
    We are trying some things with our dump program because there are some letters the program doesn't find, we have to add them.

    for now, add the text at the end doesn't work I think the pointer for text are not all good.
     
  2. fafadou

    fafadou Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    148
    @yzb37859365 : we have found a problem of " we had used the wrong one ” in the translate and we have some errors during the dumping program.
    Now we have no error and the AFS doesn't work even if we put the fr text at the end, could you have a look and try to put the text at the end with your method please ?

    Dragoncity will send you the AFS with FR text alone and the AFS with FR text next to english text soon. You have already the english AFS only from the game.

    You are our last hope, we have tried to find an issue since many days...
     
  3. fafadou

    fafadou Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    148
  4. yzb37859365

    yzb37859365 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    122
    I can not open the download link, and you have tried to copy an English version of the file in the end can work game?
     
  5. fafadou

    fafadou Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    148
    Normally you can download them, it's strange
    Maybe it will be better with mega nz
    fr alone :
    https://mega.nz/#!U7x33R5J!k4hJ2NNSd4WDuf6Y_IJvQav7lggmWZzm0iR90RvnaGQ
    fr next to english text :
    https://mega.nz/#!17YhgQ4A!y4GI46Fn3QJE1iYvgOsi5vqOzE9LmU-4_lRC4lWS0FA

    But be carreful it looks the files are .AFS.AFS I will check this.

    We have checked too the pointer of the begininng of the file : start text->Ok, length->Ok and end text->Ok with an alignment in 0. so for us it's good. For me the problem come from text pointer. we'll continue to search where the problem come from.

    You mean paste the english text at the end of the original english 01.l62C text. It's a good idea, I'll try it. No I don't think about that thanks :)
     
  6. yzb37859365

    yzb37859365 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    122
    I can't open a lot of addresses in China, including Mega
     
    fafadou likes this.
  7. fafadou

    fafadou Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    148
    Ok I'm still looking for an issue and I send you the file by an other way if it's necessary.
    Thanks.
     
  8. dragoncity

    dragoncity Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    17
  9. yzb37859365

    yzb37859365 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    122
    After looking at it briefly, I found some problems. Though it didn't seem to be a big problem, it could be avoided. As I said, adding text at the end of the document, it is better to change the original text to 0000000.


    UC截图20180306233403.png
     
  10. dragoncity

    dragoncity Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    17
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2018
  11. yzb37859365

    yzb37859365 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    122
    btw,

    <portrait num="0000"/>Je ne sais pas, je n'y pensais pas beauco{FE}

    what {FE}??
     
    fafadou likes this.
  12. dragoncity

    dragoncity Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    17
    Normally it's not that..but when you compile with Gr2dump9.. it's that after ..

    <portrait num="0000"/>Je ne sais pas, je n'y pensais pas beaucoup.

    The original with the french text :
    Translation French Before Dump.txt

    And after dump:

    6400 - END FR.TXT
     
  13. dragoncity

    dragoncity Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    17
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2018
  14. fafadou

    fafadou Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    148
    For me our dump software is seing some text where there is some program.
    If you check you can see some strange things after dumping in .txt the french file after dumping for create a new 01.l62c :
    [​IMG]
    On the right in the french file you have a list of reftype we didn't have in the english txt as you can see on the left...

    Always in the names, antoher strange things :
    [​IMG]
    In case of :
    Hemble
    Hemble
    In the english list we have this instead of the same
    Hemble
    Hemble
    in the french file...

    In the english original txt when we dump it for the first time we have some {F0} in the text this F0 in hex match with the letter "ð" So I think some letter is seeing like text instead of program :
    [​IMG]
    And in the hex edit :
    [​IMG]
    I'm sorry it's not exactly the same area int the hex edit 01.l62c but we have some "ð ("{F0} in txt) ; !ð (!{F0} in hex and ð ({F0} in .txt) in all the .txt files.
    In order to have the same thing after translating and dumping we have add the {F0} to ð in the dump program. Because if we keep the {F0} in the txt after dumping the program will write 4 letters in the 01.l62c than only F0 we have at the beggining (I hope, I'm understable). It's something I have notice but maybe our problem doeasn't come from here.
    Of course we have the strange things like dragoncity shown you...

    In our dumping program we have a list of letter and symbol for matching each letter in the .txt file as you can see I have replace the {F0} by ð already :
    [​IMG]



    But last "strange" thing, if we dump the english text without change anything the resulting 01.l62c is the same than the original....

    The problem come from the translation dumping process...

    Perhaps in a first time it's more easier to have a look in the names pointers? Normally we must have approximatively the same things.

    Thanks for taking the time for checking our files. We have really no idea for finding an issue. We had try all we could.
     
  15. Mrneo240

    Mrneo240 Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    260
    I'll throw my hat in the ring.

    The latest source of grdump2.c is in the last page?
     
  16. fafadou

    fafadou Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    148
    Thanks a lot for your help :)
    This forum is full of great guys.

    Here :
    https://mega.nz/#!MyAl1IAB!gKpFgvO0Ggpg6cNnVd6rvDNcJs_E56rgn6ikylad74Q

    If you can't download it, probably dragoncity should give you a better way. Or you can take an other link in this topic.
    Because we have change some minors things, just add the french accent letters, this version is not exactly the last, I let the "{F0}" than "ð" you can see in my last picture above. But it's easy to add and we have the same problem at the end.
    It's the italian tool, they have released, I understand just few things.

    Ask me if you need anything else.
     
  17. dragoncity

    dragoncity Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    17
    If you can find the problem that would be wonderful! :)

    GR2dump9.c
     
  18. dragoncity

    dragoncity Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    17
    Have you find the problem?
    We tested many thing but without good result :(
     
  19. fafadou

    fafadou Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    148
    Some good news here.

    We have a new guy in the team. He had done an mazing tool and thanks to the notices of yzb he had corrected the aligment problem :) so now the translation still go on :)
    the terribly 6400.AFS is now good.

    I want to share the hardmode for dc with a complete new main screen title, those who have try them tell me teh game is correct but I 'll try to add so minor things at the end available only in the hardmode (and no available in the normal game in the anniversary edition neither) it's just some attacks for last enemy and boss. if the game crashed I'll removed them :
    I will release soon on the isozone but please have a look before :)

    https://mega.nz/#!BygVjArL!Ua2HEjU_Dx3coWE2RCF5dpbnEsnUJuwWKDRjBmWb4rc

    See you soon with good news again.
     
    Xerxes3rd and fry76 like this.
  20. fafadou

    fafadou Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    148
    @yzb37859365 : I'm sorry to bother you again.

    Now the translation is running well but we have two little details to correct :
    One one them is the shop in the 5824.afs here :
    [​IMG]
    for example we add some letters for translation like "armor" which have to became "armure" But in the game you will have only "rmure"... 1 letter is missing but before Armor in line 5FF3 you can see 3*20 hex for space and you can change weapons and jewelry which have more letters than Armor and items. How have you correct this please ?

    The second minor probem is in the field.bin when you can find all the menus details :

    [​IMG]
    As you can see for example "run" is became "courir" in the first case and the highlighted is still on 3 letters than 6 letters it must be now.

    Have you corrected those problems ? Thanks for you help.
     

Share This Page