How to burn

Discussion in 'Sonic Xtreme Release Project' started by wombat, Sep 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wombat

    wombat SEGA!

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,676
    Likes Received:
    323
    I finally got my Saturn chipped, but the only thing I can burn are coasters. Programs used burning:

    - Nero
    - DVD Dycrypter

    (both on recording x1)

    Do I need an other program?

    Thanks in advance guys!
     
  2. madhatter256

    madhatter256 Illustrious Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    6,578
    Likes Received:
    4
    Did you test out the chipped Saturn to see if you installed it correctly? does it boot up other games, as well as other games on CDRs to verify the functionality of the saturn modchip?
     
  3. wombat

    wombat SEGA!

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,676
    Likes Received:
    323
    Well I don't have any Saturn backup's except for the SonicXtreme one. Can I just make a 1:1 copy of a origional disc to test the modchip?
     
  4. wingedwolf

    wingedwolf Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    i think you can...
     
  5. madhatter256

    madhatter256 Illustrious Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    6,578
    Likes Received:
    4
    yeh.
     
  6. XxHennersXx

    XxHennersXx I post here on the toilet sometimes.

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,116
    Likes Received:
    24
    after oyou extract the iso you can just open it with nero and burn it. that's what i did.
     
  7. Taucias

    Taucias Site Supporter 2014,2015

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    5,016
    Likes Received:
    18
    If it will read on your PC then the disc is fine.
     
  8. chaoticdaos

    chaoticdaos Considering imagining what cannot exist

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Chipping the console (for me) only allowed me to play backups it didn't get around the region issue. I have a US saturn while the disc is from Japan. So i used some saturn region changer from zophar.net to fix that problem.

    The only other advice I can give is when you're burning with nero use the option "Burn Image" under the recorder tab.

    Such as when you start nero up cancel out of the menu where it asks you if you want to burn a dvd or cd. you've seen this menu i'm sure it it's called Nero Compilation this IS NOT what you want, instead go to Burn Image.

    Also you want to burn a CD not a DVD.
     
  9. Segafreak_NL

    Segafreak_NL v2.0 New and improved. Site supporter 2012-15

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    62
    Make sure it's mode 1.
     
  10. wombat

    wombat SEGA!

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,676
    Likes Received:
    323
    After some trial and error I have discovered that it wasnt working becouse of the CD-R brand.

    Not working:
    Imation
    Memorex (lightscribe)

    Working:
    the PlayStation 1 dev cd-r's lol :)
     
  11. Segafreak_NL

    Segafreak_NL v2.0 New and improved. Site supporter 2012-15

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    62
    Haha nice choice. Still, I've used loads of brands for my Saturn burns and don't recall any dud discs..
     
  12. madhatter256

    madhatter256 Illustrious Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    6,578
    Likes Received:
    4
    Don't use those!

    Buy verbatim or TDK, or heck - import some Taiyo Yuden direct from Japan!!
     
  13. retro

    retro Resigned from mod duty 15 March 2018

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    823
    Verbs are lovely, if you can find them! TDK are pretty hit and miss, a lot of writers burnt coasters with them - great discs if you can get them working, though.

    Nero should burn fine. I used to use CloneCD if there was an original I didn't wanna risk damaging, whatever format.
     
  14. Barc0de

    Barc0de Mythical Member from Time Immemorial

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Messages:
    11,205
    Likes Received:
    23
    btw, if you choose to run backups, there is a region patching/changing tool that works flawlessly. I made Radiant Silvergun run just fine on my PAL Saturn , without a mod-chip, just doing the swap trick.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page