How not to mod a gamecube

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by drakon, Jun 12, 2013.

  1. sonicdude10

    sonicdude10 So long AG and thanks for all the fish!

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,582
    Likes Received:
    35
    I never use tape or glue on my stuff. If it breaks, it was because the wire was weak. Never have had a connection come lose unless it tore the trace off the PCB for surface mount solder.

    I take back what I said about never using tape. I used some black electrical tape to hold the wires on my hacked "laptop touchpad to PS2 cable" mouse. Wish now I had used hot glue instead...
     
  2. MaxWar

    MaxWar <B>Site Supporter 2013</B>

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    28
    According to your reasoning, the guy who made this ( not me ) definitely does not have faith in his own soldering abilities and obviously needs more practice, after all he uses glue. ( credits to Jinn for this work )
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Lum

    Lum Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234
    Likes Received:
    43
    Oh wow. Pics like that make me tempted to speed up getting a Saturn region mod.
     
  4. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,630
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    I see no glue over the soldering, the glue is also only there to make it LOOK tidier, not to hold the soldering down


    Me and jinn have discussed this type of stuff a few times. Sharing methods, etc.

    Also, please give me an example of hot glue being used over the top of soldering in commercial stuff, also in crazy excess, rather than just a dab.
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2013
  5. Pikkon

    Pikkon "Moving in Stereo"

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,700
    Likes Received:
    83
    If you have a solid and reliable connection hot glue is simply not needed.
     
  6. Mack

    Mack <B>Site Supporter 2012</B><BR><B>Site Supporter 20

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ya Jinn does some excellent work that's for sure.
     
  7. MaxWar

    MaxWar <B>Site Supporter 2013</B>

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    28
    The glue on the modchip definitely has a structural role of securing the part in place to prevent it from moving. If the goal was simply to make the job look tidier, then it would have looked better without it.

    Anyway I pretty much agree with all you said there. I almost never use glue myself.
    I was simply reacting to an earlier comment that was unilaterally black and white about glue usage.

    Also about your question, I don't think I have often, if ever seen hot glue in commercial stuff, other types of glue seem to be used. And indeed not directly on the soldering. The closest I can think of that are epoxy covered BGA package.

    I think this particular discussion is pretty much exhausted, sorry about the fuss.
    peace.
     
  8. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,630
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    The glue on the modchip is only holding it in place because he has tucked all the wires under it - rather than sticking it down with the double sided pad that comes on the back of the chip.

    Like i said - its due to looks :)

    I could even send you the PM's from jinn saying why he bothered doing them like that (he undercut someones modding price on racketboy and that user started a campaign to say his work was bad - so he did the installs you see above to shut him up.)
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2013
  9. keropi

    keropi Familiar Face

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    70
  10. APE

    APE Site Supporter 2015

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,417
    Likes Received:
    141
    Snowkitty got his ass handed to him nicely.

    http://www.gc-forever.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=1235

    Scroll down to "35$ MEGAdrive".
     
  11. keropi

    keropi Familiar Face

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    70
    ^ thanks for the link!
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2013
  12. takeshi385

    takeshi385 Mojarra Frita Bandit

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    166
    Can someone give me a link to an ebay auction with the correct switch for this mod?
    THanks in advance.
    Up until now I didn't know of any other switches aside form your normal spdt and spt.
     
  13. Lum

    Lum Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234
    Likes Received:
    43
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2013
  14. Pasky13

    Pasky13 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Every 'mod' I've seen Drakon do always seems to get attacked by a bunch of jerk circling men.
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2013
  15. sonicdude10

    sonicdude10 So long AG and thanks for all the fish!

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,582
    Likes Received:
    35
    That's because using hot glue the way he does is poor craftsmanship.

    True good modding doesn't need that much glue. Just a dab here and there to hold parts and/ or wires in place.
     
  16. DragoonC

    DragoonC Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hi there buds,

    I just wanted to share my pictures of the pain in the arse mod.
    Hope you'll enjoy ;)

    http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8379/8469103470_42be4b549b_o.jpg

    http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8380/8468008429_28a4684d1f_o.jpg

    http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8091/8468008049_1854b3e068_o.jpg

    http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8386/8521436759_27d764072b_o.jpg

    http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8232/8521436467_06b57bdf7c_o.jpg

    http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8392/8521496855_b04d974bd6_o.jpg

    http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8514/8522608358_7ca1cc5b6f_o.jpg

    http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8372/8522615788_7b5f19d679_o.jpg

    The original drive is in there, so it looks like stock, but no laser and not functional, cause where the laser was is now the sd-card slot ;)
    Wii-Key Fusion needs 2 signals to start correctly, open/close tray and reset, I did this with the original Gamecube signals ;)
     
  17. Mack

    Mack <B>Site Supporter 2012</B><BR><B>Site Supporter 20

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    7
    Good work , you should follow Gamecube forever though would have saved you some soldering ;)
     
  18. sonicdude10

    sonicdude10 So long AG and thanks for all the fish!

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2,582
    Likes Received:
    35
    Nicely done. This method seems to be growing in popularity. By that I mean putting the SD card in the original drive assembly for a mostly stock look.
     
  19. Mechagouki

    Mechagouki Site Supporter 2013,2014,2015

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    12
    What MaxWar said:

    [​IMG]
     
  20. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,630
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    Again. Not for making a good connection or stability. Thats to stop Modders. Its also not in excess, unlike this thread
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2013

Share This Page