Help-SuperFami no power

Discussion in 'Repair, Restoration, Conservation and Preservation' started by djcalle, May 29, 2016.

  1. djcalle

    djcalle Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys,

    Hoping someone could help me out troubleshhoting this Super famicom (APU01) I have that doesn't power up:

    -The fuse is not blown. I havesuccesfully tested continuity.
    -I have 9v at the DC connector
    -The voltage regulator has 0V on the input and output leg.

    Question:
    Which component can I check/replace between the DC jack and voltage regulator?

    Any help with this would be much appreciated.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2016
  2. dc16

    dc16 Dauntless Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    20
  3. djcalle

    djcalle Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers DC16,

    Is it worth replacing the voltage regulator if there's no voltage coming into it? sounds to me like something else is wrong.
    What is the choke?
     
  4. dc16

    dc16 Dauntless Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    20
    This is a choke: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Choke_(electronics)

    And do not use any other adapter for the Super Famicom besides the official plug, or this.

    It could be the choke, but it could be the voltage regulator too if you say there is continuity at the fuse.
     
  5. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,613
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    If you have 9v at the dc connector. Its unlikely to be the voltage regulator. It's the parts between them.

    This should be easy to fault find with a multimeter. Start at the dc jack and just follow the circuit to the voltage regulator input. Where the power is coming in one side of a component but not the output is your fault.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2016
    dc16 likes this.
  6. djcalle

    djcalle Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks guys, not sure what happened, I'm sure i had continuity through the fuse.
    Anyway I started probing voltages everywhere and found out one side of the fuse had 0v.
    Not sure if this was a user issue or if my multimeter was over ambitious in beeping.
    So, after all this, all it was was the fuse :S
     

Share This Page