(Help) How to add Icons to HDLoader/KERMIT Games on PS2 HDD-OSD

Discussion in 'Sony Programming and Development' started by vash32, Oct 20, 2012.

  1. vash32

    vash32 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    5
    Tested and does work! :cool-new: I'm only using "hdl_dumb_091"... I also hexed out the "HD Loader" tag that it adds to the games. (and set flashing icon back to the old one... as it was not working too good for me... but maybe its just an error on my icon, so I try one more time.)

    I uses a CD game on "hdl_dumb_091" and worked 100%, so the no CD and Dual-Layer DVD is just for "hdl_dumb_087" (GUI var.)?
    Thanks for this, it a great way of doing it now. (but only if I can get Japanese test to work... maybe using the "UTF-8" will work.. mostly not but I'll try it.:excitement:)
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2013
  2. PS2Guy

    PS2Guy Lost in the neverending abyss.

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've been watching this thread intently since the beginning and maybe I've missed something, but can you please point me to where I can go to install the HDD-OSD on my machine.

    Also, how are you guys able to change the version of your consoles like you do??
     
  3. vash32

    vash32 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    5
    You need to uses KrHACKen's Sony Utility Discs: Compilation 3 (SUDC3) or the Test Dump HDD-OSD (LBA48 patched).
    Also this may help, if needed.
    Also, if your trying to change the version of your console you need to get LENSCHANGER and backup you NVA Ram and edit it to what your looking for and set it back to your console. (Note you can f-up your PS2)
     
  4. PS2Guy

    PS2Guy Lost in the neverending abyss.

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks man. I've got some test consoles here that I can try it on first.
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2013
  5. AKuHAK

    AKuHAK Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    51
    Ahoy!
    Yeep.
    Noop.

    sounds familiar? :cocksure:
    Maybe the question is: "How to remove flashing support?" Because now this effect is hardcoded and works with any icon.

    HDL_dump is a program for installing PS2 games into Hard Disk. Now its more functional neither old versions. As for your words about kirx support, replacing text area, changing game name and partition name. We don't need it if we just install the game. HDL server doesn't have support for "just" injecting partition header at already existing partitions. Maybe if I was able to make such a function I will unblock all of this features (and yes you have to include tonns of files with your executable). But
    its still only my dreams )))
     
  6. krHACKen

    krHACKen #CNNisISIS

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    468
    The icon flashing thing happens when you define an out of bound BG's alpha value. Normally the max val of the background transparency is 128, but I think the glitch appears if it's set to 256+.
    [video=youtube_share;gkOLRoJc6Mk]http://youtu.be/gkOLRoJc6Mk[/video]
    PS2D -> Ch
    PS2X -> bgcola
     
  7. jsnepo

    jsnepo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can we use the updated hdl dump to replace icons of games already installed to the HDD?
     
  8. vash32

    vash32 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    5
    Sorry, it does not work like that... you need to setup the icon before you install the game.

    P.S. (For anyone) If you like to get a icon for your game but the start of the game is too long to get a save, you can open the game iso in a hex editor and look for:
    "00 00 01 00 01 00 00 00 07 00 00 00 00 00 80 3F"
    and copy from that and to the end of what looks to be all the icon data. Note that this does not work on all games.
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2013
  9. jsnepo

    jsnepo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Too bad. Thanks anyway.
     
  10. fresh

    fresh Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Remembers me of: "It's not a bug, it's a feature...!".
    :highly_amused:


    Rgds.
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2013
  11. sp193

    sp193 Site Soldier

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,235
    Likes Received:
    1,075
    How do you know that?
     
  12. fresh

    fresh Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    I corrected my post...
    ;)
     
  13. l_oliveira

    l_oliveira Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,895
    Likes Received:
    252
    Maybe he just posted that in "jest" .... Oh indeed he fixed his post.
     
  14. fresh

    fresh Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ahoy!


    Okay, the hdd-osd handles the protection bits of icons on the mc differently as the normal osd does or better they'll be partly ignored.

    But is it just me or has anyone noticed a mc icon put on a partition of the hdd has a different look as on mc?


    Rgds.
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2013
  15. vash32

    vash32 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yes, I try using the save icon for "Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi 3" [SLUS-21678] on the HDD-OSD and it looks all f@&^$ up... its all boxed like and looks very different then MC, so I removed it and added the save icon for "Dragon Ball Z: Budokai 3" to it.
     
  16. sp193

    sp193 Site Soldier

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,235
    Likes Received:
    1,075
    Seriously? The icon file specs were never changed.

    So far, all my icons have worked great...
     
  17. fresh

    fresh Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi!

    Maybe i am wrong but the used icons on hdd have got i.e. a different brightness as the same icons used on a mc.
    So i had to correct the lights and the ambient light.


    Rgds.
     
  18. vash32

    vash32 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    5
    If you like I can make a video of it. It does look different... its not hard to see.
     
  19. sp193

    sp193 Site Soldier

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,235
    Likes Received:
    1,075
    Normal photographs of the same icon on the HDD and on the memory card will do. There is no need to waste the bandwidth of the Google servers over something so trival.
     
  20. vash32

    vash32 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    5
    Sorry that its hard to see it in the photographs... its the best I can do. (If you can't see it, you've have to do it yourself.)

    MC:
    [​IMG]

    HDD-OSD:
    [​IMG]
    I know you can't see it.. but its a little box like etc.

    P.S. I added the icon as a attachment... if you like to try it yourself.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 25, 2013

Share This Page