Hardmod or Softmod

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by williamgentry, Jul 24, 2017.

  1. williamgentry

    williamgentry Rising Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    I Saw this ebay listing, i cant tell if its a hardware mod, anyone else seen this?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. drewmerc

    drewmerc Rising Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    hard mod
    install diagram
    multichip.jpg
     
  3. williamgentry

    williamgentry Rising Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can these still be purchased or made with a programmer
     
  4. drewmerc

    drewmerc Rising Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. gladiator5

    gladiator5 Robust Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    18
    I like too know too. never saw this sort of chip.
     
  6. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,628
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    Its an action replay style bios + modchip in one. You could recreate this if you wanted to
     
  7. TriState294

    TriState294 Site supporter 2016

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    48
    Is this piggybacking the stock BIOS chip or do you remove the stock BIOS chip and solder this in it's place? The diagram shows the mod board already in place.
     
  8. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,628
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    It has a socket that clips over the original bios.
     
    TriState294 likes this.
  9. williamgentry

    williamgentry Rising Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does anyone know where you could find the alternative bios?
     
  10. mmz16x

    mmz16x Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    3
    how would we go about making this what AR firm is needed and modchip hex files? very curious :D
     
  11. LeHaM

    LeHaM Site Soldier

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2,636
    Likes Received:
    295
    I have one like this in my PS1 it has the VCD playback option also
     
  12. Mystical

    Mystical Resolute Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    35
    Yeah I had a PSone with one of these in years ago, also played VCD's and CD-R games
     
  13. LeHaM

    LeHaM Site Soldier

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2,636
    Likes Received:
    295
    Photos for when they disappear from ebay
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    How does C/E work though?
     
  14. danhans115

    danhans115 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    8
    Lets work out the connection points of the flash?

    Would be quite cool having sicklebricks Unirom BIOS running on one of these in a PSone.
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2017
  15. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,628
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    Connection points are easy, its just the data sheet of any flash the correct size and voltage vs pinout in the psone schematics.

    You would probably find it easier to remove the existing bios than find sockets to fit though.

    As mentioned above, the only point of interest on the original is how they are disabling the original bios, I'm guessing the flash chip is a am29f040 in tsop 32 and pin 30 is /ce, which is wired to the pad g and the sockets is high. But doesn't matter if you just remove the original anyway.
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2017
  16. LeHaM

    LeHaM Site Soldier

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2,636
    Likes Received:
    295
    if one wanted to keep the original bios and switch, you could just have a PCB with two flash chips and remove the original
     
  17. danhans115

    danhans115 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    8
    Are they disabling the original BIOS? I though that AR type carts just mapped into some address space, and when the PSX BIOS detects a certain header it boots the code thats there.

    I have a VCD card that uses a similar approach to the above, it basically piggybacks the BIOS ROM to gain access to the sub bus and has a few more wires for power/ WE etc..

    EDIT: Looking at an AR/GS schematic, the address/data lines run straight to the expansion connector. The OE/CE/WR lines run through the GAL/PAL.

    On the above it would seem.. Point G goes to C/E, Point F to Vcc and Point E is W/E. On my PSone at home (PM-41(2)) that test point looks different to the PM-41 pictured.

    What would W/E connect to on the CPU?
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2017
  18. LeHaM

    LeHaM Site Soldier

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2,636
    Likes Received:
    295
    Would you need W/E ?

    I have an internal VCD card for my system, clips on like the one in the listing. I'll have to open it up but I managed to have mine on a switch by lifting one of the test point wires (this kit is different to the ebay one)


    That sounds more plausible than what I was thinking.. I thought maybe it was pulling a certain pin high to get the PS1 to boot the external ROM..

    Bad or SP193 may know or that guy who makes the PSIO (think he is on here)
     
  19. danhans115

    danhans115 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    8
    There is a seperate CS line for the expansion ROM which is used.. I have half done this already, just needs finishing off.

    Basically the BIOS ROM uses CS on CPU Pin 97, and the Expansion ROM uses CPU pin 98.

    W/E is used for writing to the Flash isnt it? In the eBay listing about there is a link to a video of the above solution being flashed using X Flash.. so I assumed W/E will be needed to flash the ROM for instances when a blank is fitted or it needs updating.

    Regards

    Dan
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2017
  20. Mord.Fustang

    Mord.Fustang Fiery Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    186
    Never seen this mod before. Interesting.
     

Share This Page