Hagane repro help

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by retronerd, Sep 22, 2015.

  1. retronerd

    retronerd Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    5
    I cant get this to work?

    Ive used an FFV as donor with place for 2x maskroms, i have swapped bin the files and burnet them into 2x 27c801.

    Both games are Hirom

    but its not booting? http://www.ladda-upp.se/bilder/tmbosbgpcixdpp/
     
  2. TheRealPhoenix

    TheRealPhoenix Spoken Language: French & English

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    81
    Classic stuff to check:

    - Are the contacts of the pcb are clean?
    - Do you respect the order P0 and P1 of the Eeproms?
    - Any dead traces?
    - Are the Eeproms correctly burnt?
    - Did you remove the header of the ROM file?


    I used SNES ROM Utility http://www.romhacking.net/utilities/593/ wich strip the header, split and swap at the same time without anyproblem.

    Bonus question: Why do you use a BJ3M?... Hagane don't need a save system. A 1J0N is enought to work, any Hardball III or NFL 94 will do the job, or a 2J0N like Fatal Fury 2 for making the repro with two 27C801.
     
  3. retronerd

    retronerd Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    5
    What do you mean with Do you respect the order P0 and P1 of the Eeproms?
    i just had that cart laying around. its 2x 36pins slots on the cart. what shall i do with the rest 4 pins?
     
  4. MonkeyBoyJoey

    MonkeyBoyJoey 70's Robot Anime GEPPY-X (PS1) Fanatic

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,742
    Likes Received:
    318
    I think he means are they in correct spots.
     
  5. TheRealPhoenix

    TheRealPhoenix Spoken Language: French & English

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    81
    What I meant is when you split a ROM, you have to respect the order where you burn it, or else, the OE between your 2 Eeprom will be inverted. (i.e when the MAD-1 will try to check at some address, it will read on the wrong chip).
    The 4 pins left are for additional memory region (A20/A21/A22 and +5V) but 1) you don't need it with 2*27C801 and 2) on BJ3M the A21/A22 are not used (they are ground iirc).
     
  6. retronerd

    retronerd Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ofcourse! i used the sam program as you to split and swap bin.
    Strange ,beqaus i have made many eeproms before and never had any problems?
     
  7. retronerd

    retronerd Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    5
    ive tried with an fatal fury 2 donor, but same result:(
     
  8. TheRealPhoenix

    TheRealPhoenix Spoken Language: French & English

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    81
    If the result is the same with a different PCB, then it's your eeproms:
    - swap them
    - erase and reprogram them. Just solder temporary pins on those you have cut.
     
  9. Gentlegamer

    Gentlegamer Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    6
    Be sure to link the auction on ebay when you get your bootleg working.
     
  10. retronerd

    retronerd Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    5
    The decoder activates CHIP2 OE signal when the address is longer than what is on the chip1,
    Decoder chip is of course linked to the highest address signal
     
  11. retronerd

    retronerd Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    5
  12. retronerd

    retronerd Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    5
    Soldered the same 2 x 27c801 eeproms in a final fantasy v donor with 2x 32 pin eeprom worked 1 try. strange... must have something with the 36pin config to do
     

Share This Page