[Green Gaming] End-of-Times PiBoy mini?

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by emuler, Feb 10, 2019.

1. emuler

emuler Rising Member

Arduino/raspi pure gameboy clone with monochrome lcd display (as gb brick & pocket).
    Also mono audio output with mini-jack port or even no audio at all. USB or miniSD slots for file transfer. No out-off-the-top features (lack of touchscreen, back-light, stereo sound, wifi, etc) and obviously focused in monochrome 8bit handhelds emulation.

Powered by solar juice or auto-powered by lever/crank.

Small enough to fit in pockets but big enough to push buttons with fingers, not pencil points (no keyring micro lcd handheld, which are cute but unpractical) Similar size to solar/lever modern flashlights.

Feasibility? worthy?

Any tip will be appreciated because I'm not experienced in electronics. No holding hands, just asking for few directions.
    Any chance to get the invention a little upgraded to 8bit color handheld? (yup, Game Gear mainly)

2. MottZilla

MottZilla Champion of the Forum

What are you really trying to achieve? The Raspberry Pi is already a low power device. And LED LCD displays are also relatively low power. So if you're using solar power that certainly will get the job done. However if you're powering it by some sort of hand crank/mechanical force you're going to have far less energy available.

Here is a company with a couple human mechanical powered generators.
    https://www.k-tor.com/hand-crank-generator/
    https://www.k-tor.com/pedal-powered-generator/