gcvideo - Open source GameCube component cable solution

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by darcagn, Aug 31, 2014.

  1. citrus3000psi

    citrus3000psi Housekeeping, you want towel?

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    419
    Thanks, it looks pretty straight forward. I'll see if I can get something compiled.
     
  2. pr0cess0r

    pr0cess0r Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    8
    what should be used to compile vivado or xilinx ISE ?
     
  3. Marmotta

    Marmotta Dauntless Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    49
    My boards arrived from oshpark, put in my Gamecube for a test fitting and I somehow messed up the measurements for the hole placement :oops:. At least it means I've a bit more room to work on the board when I re-do it.

    Also managed to mess up soldering one of the edges of the FGPA, so I've had to order a new one :(

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    citrus3000psi likes this.
  4. pr0cess0r

    pr0cess0r Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    8
    you will use an fcc cable?
     
  5. Marmotta

    Marmotta Dauntless Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    49
    Yes, but the QSB I designed for the digital AV connector hasn't arrived, as I ordered it as a 0.8mm board.
     
  6. happy_bunny

    happy_bunny Rising Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    23
    when I was playing around with unseen and hamsterworks vhdl stuff I used xilinx

    always room for improvement though ;-)

    mini.JPG

    dont have a clue if the mini hdmi connector works need to check at the weekend but at least I got the boards
     
    citrus3000psi likes this.
  7. Unseen

    Unseen Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    17
    Vivado only supports the 7-series chips and newer (Virtex 7 and Ultascale, Artix, Kintex, Zynq, Spartan 7), for the Spartan 3A used by GCVideo ISE is the only option.
     
  8. Marmotta

    Marmotta Dauntless Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    49
    Erm... Which pin on the M25P40 is pin 1 in relation to the text on top of the chip? I can't see any mark or indentation and the datasheet doesn't mention it either. I'm assuming it's the bottom left pin when reading the text, but just wanted to be certain.
     
  9. zeruel85

    zeruel85 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    10
    You have to look at one edge of the chip, it's cut with respect the other one.

    Picture:
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Marmotta

    Marmotta Dauntless Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    49
    Thanks. I've attempted to program the FPGA, but it fails to verify. What could be causing that?

    This is what I get in cmd:

    Code:
    C:\Users\Jared>C:\Gamecube\new_fpga_flash\new_fpga_flash.exe COM7 C:\Gamecube\spi_flash.bin
    serial flash in idle state 0x00
    
    Bulk erasing flash checking status...
    status = 00
     done!
    programming code..
    585 pages ...
    programming at  584
    done, verifying...
    !!! page 0 failed to verify !!!
    000: 00 != ff
    001: 00 != ff
    002: 00 != ff
    003: 00 != ff
    004: 00 != ff
    005: 00 != ff
    006: 00 != ff
    007: 00 != ff
    008: 00 != ff
    009: 00 != ff
    00a: 00 != ff.......
    Edit: Shit, I just noticed literally everywhere on the board is giving me 3.3V for some reason. A redesign might be necessary...
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2016
  11. pr0cess0r

    pr0cess0r Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    8
    do you jump jp1 to flash the memory via spi
     
  12. kreg

    kreg Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    25
    Own a heat gun? You can easily remove the FPGA with one, and start over to re-align your pins.

    I want my 6 weeks back. 2 Shuriken V3's and 2 Gamecubes. No joy. Someone make a damn guide with steps on how to do this. I am tired of playing guessing games till 4am thinking that I am on the right trail. This project has been a total loss of mental and physical energy.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 2, 2016
  13. pr0cess0r

    pr0cess0r Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    8
    the software is inside the 8 pin spi flash i think the best way yo flash it is outside of the board before you solder it. I will receive all part soon and try to take some picture and give details how it goes if it work at the end!
     
  14. Marmotta

    Marmotta Dauntless Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    49
    Yeah, I don't have one at the moment, but will get one eventually so I've just put my two failed boards aside until I do.
     
  15. citrus3000psi

    citrus3000psi Housekeeping, you want towel?

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    419
    I solder the flash to the board first and then flash. I power the board with the programmer

    Programming has been the issue right?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 2, 2016
  16. kreg

    kreg Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    25
    I am not sure. I can only compare my methods with others. Programming appears to be successful. I am using a Xilinx USB Programmer, connected directly to the 6 pins next to U2. With impact 11.x, I setup Direct SPI programming. I choose add a new SPI and select Unseen's gcvideo-dvi-shuriken-v3-2.3-spirom.mcs then set it too M25P40. No boundry scan or initialize chain is possible in this method right? That only works via JTAG. This is wired directly bypassing the FPGA. Erase works. Programming is sucessful. DONE pin is not going high.
     
  17. pr0cess0r

    pr0cess0r Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    8
    With all my reading one thing is not clear is the file to use to program it.
    I build the Shuriken Video V3 with a xc3S200a.
    there is those 2 files:
    gcvideo-dvi-shuriken-v3-2.3.bit
    gcvideo-dvi-shuriken-2.3.bit

    Nothing is clear about what file is for the xc3S200a or xc3S50a.

    V3=xc3S200a?
    no version = xc3S50a

    thank you.
     
  18. Unseen

    Unseen Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    17
    That's simple: I do not provide files for the XC3S50A in my repository.

    Shuriken and Shuriken V3 are two boards with slightly different pinouts.
     
  19. happy_bunny

    happy_bunny Rising Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    23
    and then

    You can flash anything to that memory chip for example shopping_list.txt a flashing tool will only check that shopping_list.txt actually got programmed to the memory chip. When the fpga starts up it will check the memory device for a config file if it only sees the shopping_list.txt it will stop keep the done pin low and just sit there because it dont understand what shopping_list.txt is. Thats why it important to check that done pin, you have flashed something on that chip that the fpga dont understand (this assumes pin 100 is not pulled to ground not sure which state the done pin will be in, if the fpga is held in reset).

    You have a pluto board right ? any joy with that ?
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2016
  20. kreg

    kreg Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    25
    Ya I went back to low on DONE. It was high on my first board, but no video. So tried a 2nd build, but never have made it to high yet.

    Is flashing Unseen's ready to go .mcs directly via seiral by chance a mistake? It could be the wrong form since your examples show making a .bin from the .bit. Pin 53 goes 3.3v and is right next to 54 (DONE). It's possible I measured 53 in the previous build. So i'm injecting doubt if I ever did program successfully, reglardless of what Impact reports.

    Ya but... yours is sooooo much cooler! lol

    Sorry for the rant. That was the tired me. I'm good. You rock.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 2, 2016

Share This Page