gcvideo - Open source GameCube component cable solution

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by darcagn, Aug 31, 2014.

  1. darcagn

    darcagn Site Supporter 2013, Site Supporter 2014

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    291
    Saw this posted on Shmups earlier today. It's an open source replacement for the custom chip used in the GameCube component and D-terminal cables.

    Anyone here fancy making and/or selling some?
     
  2. Marmotta

    Marmotta Dauntless Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    49
    I'm very interested in these. Unfortunately, the ICs he's chosen are far too small to consider hand soldering a whole bunch of these for resale (imo), but it may be worth it after a PCB redesign. Or they could be sent as is to be done by a PCB manufacturing and assembly house - something I might consider, as I've got a bit of cash knocking about atm which I wouldn't mind putting into something like this.

    I haven't had a proper look at his github, but has he mentioned any VGA tests yet? It was a simple modification with the original cable - does the same apply with this mod?
     
  3. billcosbymon

    billcosbymon Guru Meditation Error

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    48
    I would assume so since component and VGA are both analogue signals.
     
  4. TheRealPhoenix

    TheRealPhoenix Spoken Language: French & English

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    81
    Well, I would like to give a shoot, but except the PDF file I'm not able to open any schematics into Eagle. :/

    Edit: downloading Kicad, I'll try to get something.
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2014
  5. tehgazza

    tehgazza Rising Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    2
    I wonder how much of the circuitry to the Digital connector is still there in a DOL101? Like maybe as traces or components that could be soldered to!!!
     
  6. Unseen

    Unseen Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    17
    If you need a certain amount of reconfigurable logic in a chip, your options are basically only 0.5mm TQFP (various CPLDs and small FPGAs) or BGA. I don't have the equipment to solder BGA at home, so TQFP was the remaining choice. It's ok to solder in small quantities (although maybe not on the footprints I used), for larger numbers I'd look into reflow-at-home (i.e. modified toaster oven like ikari used for sd2snes or vapor phase soldering using Galden) or an assembly house.

    My guess is that all the necessary signals are still present at the SD video encoder chip. Locating a point to signal the presence of a component video cable to unlock 480p mode may be harder, but at least you could use the board to get RGB and component 480i output from an US cube that is limited to S-Video otherwise.

    As for VGA: The board has a jumper to switch the output between Component (YPrPb with sync on Y) and RGB (no sync) and there is a header where H/V/Composite sync signals are always present. If you use H+V syncs from that header and set the output to RGB, you basically have a VGA signal.
     
  7. Helder

    Helder Site Supporter 2014,2015

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    54
    I'm interested in attempting this and will likely be doing another collaboration with BuffaloWing, he's working on a new socket he's designing specifically for this project.
     
  8. TheRealPhoenix

    TheRealPhoenix Spoken Language: French & English

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    81
    Ok so I can't import from Kicad to Eagle, and I have to design the chips into Eagle since they don't exist (and I can't find the libs on the net). :D
    I'll maybe took a look later, since I don't want to learn Kicad now and adding parts into Eagle is a real pain.
     
  9. Helder

    Helder Site Supporter 2014,2015

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    54
    Just copy the foot prints of any 100TQFP device (FPGA) and the 48TQFP (DAC), you can use thew schematic parts as a base for your parts or use these libraries to have just about it all done for you except some changes you might need.

    ftp://ftp.cadsoft.de/eagle/userfiles/libraries/lattice_ispmach4000ze.lbr


    Anyone able to open up the PCB file in kicad without some Parse_Error?
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2014
  10. Unseen

    Unseen Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    17
    Try a newer version - I designed the board using a bleeding-edge checkout of KiCAD because I wanted to try the new Push&Shove router.
     
  11. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,605
    Likes Received:
    1,376
    Yeah, that was a recent thing. You used to be able to open files generated with the source built kicad on the stable version. But recently it stopped being backwards compatible.
     
  12. Helder

    Helder Site Supporter 2014,2015

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    54
    I have the 4022 and on the official site that is the one they have for download, could either of you post a link to any newer version. thanks.
     
  13. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,605
    Likes Received:
    1,376
  14. Helder

    Helder Site Supporter 2014,2015

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    54
    Thanks but I'm getting a few errors and mainly this one that keep stopping me from progressing:

    ERROR Updating source code!
    ERROR Bazaar said: bzr: ERROR: No WorkingTree exists for "file:///C:/kicad-winbuilder-3.4/src/kicad/.bzr/checkout/".

    Anyway you can post a precompiled version as I'm not getting anywhere fast.
     
  15. beharius

    beharius Resolute Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    101
    I already took permission and sent it to the pcb factory I'm workiing in China for quotation.
     
  16. Riki

    Riki Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    5
  17. Unseen

    Unseen Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    17
  18. Helder

    Helder Site Supporter 2014,2015

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2013
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    54
  19. Unseen

    Unseen Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    17
    Second reply attempt, the first one seems to be lost somewhere...

    Yes, the code could be adapted. However the board you linked to does not have any video output, so you need to connect a DAC to it.

    You may need to adapt the top level module for the specific board you use, but the core modules have been used on Xilinx Spartan 3E and 6, Altera Cyclone IV and Lattice MachXO2 with minor to no changes.

    You could also use the slightly more expensive version with industrial instead of commercial temperature range, 220-1493-ND. Another option is to use the XO2-1200HC in the same TQFP100 package, it's pin-compatible but the code would need to run through the synthesis tool again (should need no changes except the FPGA model).
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 2, 2016
  20. beharius

    beharius Resolute Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    101
    We're busy with the current projects and don't have enough time for an extra project so I want them to assemble the PCB completely, they will supply the parts also. I am waiting for the price. :) if it's feasible we will work on that...
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2014

Share This Page