Fully reset a PS2 tool

Discussion in 'Sony Programming and Development' started by AlexRMC92, May 10, 2013.

1. AlexRMC92

AlexRMC92 Site Supporter 2013

I would like to fully reset the software on my PS2 tool, as if i was a developer and just received the kit from sony. I've read that there are some images somewhere of PS2 tools, but are these clean images? I'm hoping this isn't something that only sony could do.

2. pool7

pool7 Site Supporter 2014

I'm sure someone else can confirm, but AFAIK the PS2 Tool has an i386 Red Hat 6.2 (the old Red Hat, not the RHEL) + the PS2 SDK. If that's really all it is, you can get an ISO of the Red Hat 6.2, then download and use the SDK 3.0.2 that I posted some time ago (you'll have to get the extracted version, as the ISO only has a Windows installer which you won't be able to run under Red Hat).
    Not sure if there's any customization to the RH included in the PS2 Tool, or maybe libraries or similar that are not even included in the SDK...

Last edited: May 10, 2013
    TexasGameDev likes this.
  3. PS2Guy

PS2Guy Lost in the neverending abyss.

You're half right.

The DTL-T10000 runs on a modified version of RedHat 5.2.
    The DTL-T10000H runs on a modified version of RedHat 6.2.

There are rpm packages installed on the system that weren't available to the general public. (However these come under the GNU/GPL and that states that the source code is available on request, butI can't see Sony just giving it to anyone).

The hard drive isn't initialized so there's no chance of upgrading the OS (I know I've tried).

You may be able to flash the ROM with an earlier SDK version, but I'm not sure if you can (Sony don't like going backwards, but because it's a TOOL you may be able to).

There are other members on this site that have far more knowledge than I on the subject, but this is what I know so far.

4. AlexRMC92