Found playable Cipher Complex canceled game on X360 XDK Test Kit

Discussion in 'Unreleased Games Discussion' started by kabojnk, Mar 10, 2018.

1. kabojnk

kabojnk Newly Registered

Hello everyone!

I am a newbie here so I just wanted to start off by saying hello. :)

Ok now that introductions are out of the way, heh, I have something that I think might be very interesting to some. Recently I acquired a Jasper model Xbox 360 XDK Test Kit complete with sidecar and VGA cable/power brick. I have a few XDK slim/fats and a prototype slim console so I just bought it to add to the collection as I have wanted a Jasper XDK for some time...but this one actually has something kinda neat on it.

First off, when I got the unit, on the power brick it said "Property of Electronic Arts" so I thought that was cool. Next, I fired up the console and delved into some of the executable on the dev partition. What I came across put me at a loss for words.

Basically, I think I found a super rare fully playable "demo" of a canceled game. The game is called "Cipher Complex" and was cancelled in 2009. If you google search the game, you can find a little information on it and a couple old vids from 2010 or so showing the same playable level in the video. The game shown in the vids is what I have on my XDK Test Kit and it is fully playable just like in the vids on YouTube.

I have never seen this playable "demo" anywhere else and all the vids I have seen of it are the exact same leaked vid of some random person (maybe from the dev team) playing the "demo" that I have.