Everdrive weird SEGA CD region free problem, need help

Discussion in 'Mega Everdrive / Everdrive MD' started by Tor Landeel, Jul 22, 2011.

  1. Tor Landeel

    Tor Landeel Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello!
    First of all, since it's my first post here, I must thank Krikzz for his everdrive products, I just got an Everdrive MD and I'm having a blast with it!
    On the other hand, I found a strange problem with the SEGA CD bios flashing feature, to run SEGA CD games on my PAL Mega CDs.

    I got 3 sega cd games at the moment (more are coming), such as Megarace, Popful Mail and Road Rash CD.
    Megarace and Popful Mail works FLAWLESSLY (and I really thank you for that), but Road Rash CD shows some graphical problems when used with the Everdrive, problems I have seen in my life during the earliest times of emulation.
    The game boots ok, but ingame the road is light blue and the sky is corrupted.
    Here is a couple of images taken with a camera:

    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/607/wp000158.jpg/
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/12/wp000161.jpg/

    At first I thought it could be some everdrive bios/option to be messed with, but I've tried everything I could, different bioses like the USA and the region free one, tried removing my 32x, and even tried my Multimega. None of this brought a result.
    More details about my setups:
    Megadrive model 1 + Model 1 MCD + 32x
    Multimega

    So, I made and iso off the original cdrom, patched using scdconv for PAL region, and booted the game without everdrive: no corruption, everything ok.
    I flashed the regionfree bios on the everdrive, booted it and used the burned cd and the corruption started again, so I assume the problem can be replicated at any time.

    Is it a problem that can be fixed? Please let me know.




    (on a side note, I played Popful mail with the everdrive for a couple of hours to find my 32x almost in overheat..is it normal?)
     
  2. Froggydarren

    Froggydarren Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have a very srange problem with snatcher using the everdrive/region free bios :( every game i have tryed works great but snatcher loads up fine but for some very strange reason when you get down to playing the game no text loads up....at first i thought it was a problem with my copy (its a proper retail copy not a backup) so i downloaded a backup of the US version and that did the same lol....

    oh and if ur 32x is overheating then it will need a clean outside and inside :)
     
  3. Tor Landeel

    Tor Landeel Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try making the backup regionfree using cdconv

    The 32x is very clean and doesn't overheat with 32x games.
    Looks like everdrive is overheating it in some way..
     
  4. KRIKzz

    KRIKzz Well Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    2
    it looks like typical problem when 50hz only game works at 60hz system, but then i don't know why it works after scdconv
     
  5. Tor Landeel

    Tor Landeel Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, no it's not: I forgot to say my megadrive is modded and set at 60hz.
    (and btw there's no difference at 50hz)
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2011
  6. KRIKzz

    KRIKzz Well Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    2
    i wonder what will happen if you will be use same bios as inside of your mega CD and your patched iso (MD1 + MCD1 + E bios)
     
  7. Froggydarren

    Froggydarren Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    The exact same thing lol but its not a biggy for me as my mega cd has a muti bios chip fitted its just a abit of a pain changeing the region every time i want to play a import :(...

    and iv only just got my 32x (super 32x import) so mines brand new and as of yet iv had no heat issues with it apart from it looks like i need a 50/60 hz mod fitted to my 32x to play daxcide and JagDoom 32x :(
     
  8. Froggydarren

    Froggydarren Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Iv tryed the (E) (U) and (J) versions of snatcher and bios with the right region and it still does the same thing... like i said its no biggie for me but the bios loading feature is not 100% compatible using the everdrive ;(
     
  9. Tor Landeel

    Tor Landeel Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I already tried it :)
    Same corruption happens.

    Patched iso + Euro Bios on everdrive :)
     
  10. KRIKzz

    KRIKzz Well Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    2
    well, same situation on my system in road rash. i will try to find a problem
     
  11. Tor Landeel

    Tor Landeel Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you!
     
  12. Froggydarren

    Froggydarren Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    ill be looking forward to any developments you might be able to make on this one as well :)
     
  13. Tor Landeel

    Tor Landeel Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a little update as I get more games.
    Shadow of the Beast 2 doesn't boot, all I get is a black screen.
    I've tried with the same result both the retail USA copy, and a burned, pal region converted copy, which boots fine without the everdrive.
    Thanks!
     
  14. Tor Landeel

    Tor Landeel Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any plan/update?
    Thanks!
     
  15. l_oliveira

    l_oliveira Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,888
    Likes Received:
    249
    There's hacked BIOSes for MEGA/SEGA-CD with region checks removed, ready to be placed on the BIOS SOCKET (no need to use switches to change which BIOS you use) you know ? :lol:

    Also I'm almost positive it works on Everdrive if you try.


    Edit: Just noticed that the OP mentioned the region free bios. :lol:
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2011
  16. Tor Landeel

    Tor Landeel Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there any plan, ever, to fix these problems?? :(
     
  17. KRIKzz

    KRIKzz Well Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    2
    neo myth shown same glitches if bios loading function was used, so probably it is not fixable things
     
  18. Tor Landeel

    Tor Landeel Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, thank you anyway for your support!
     
  19. Lum

    Lum Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234
    Likes Received:
    43
    I'd look into US CDX, if lack of space concerns you. Multimega's size and feature set paired with factory NTSC mode is one astounding combo. Difficult part is finding one not broken these days...
     

Share This Page