Engineering Sample CPUs

Discussion in 'Computer Gaming Forum' started by Jackhead, Feb 19, 2016.

  1. BLUamnEsiac

    BLUamnEsiac ɐɹnɔsqO ʇᴉq-8

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    105
    With great power comes great responsibility. What are you going to do with this beast? :)
     
  2. -=FamilyGuy=-

    -=FamilyGuy=- Site Supporter 2049

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    1,033
    Lock it to one core and pretend it's 2003, hopefully.
     
    BLUamnEsiac likes this.
  3. BLUamnEsiac

    BLUamnEsiac ɐɹnɔsqO ʇᴉq-8

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    105
    Blasphemy! lol
    Still, I can see how limiting the number of cores might be helpful if the power bill becomes a concern.
     
  4. ASSEMbler

    ASSEMbler Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    19,394
    Likes Received:
    1,029
    Render, render all the things.
     
  5. -=FamilyGuy=-

    -=FamilyGuy=- Site Supporter 2049

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    1,033
    The irony is that this is probably more eco friendly than most powerful 2003 single core chips anyways.

    I would have some applications for that in scientific computing. But more realistically jackhead could render stuff in blender while the encoding h265 and playing a modern game, with two players on the same machine (2 screens etc) playing online, all while hosting a semi-succesful website, and have a few cores idle.

    I guess you would ROCK in the fold@home project.
     
  6. Jackhead

    Jackhead Site Soldier

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,442
    Likes Received:
    618
  7. Syclopse

    Syclopse .

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    539
    Not mine, but here's a 133 on eBay.
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/322576229016
     
  8. Gamefan

    Gamefan Rising Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    4
    Awesome setup. Glad you got it working!
     
  9. -=FamilyGuy=-

    -=FamilyGuy=- Site Supporter 2049

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    1,033
    So I just though of that thread because I got to play with such a system nowadays...
    2 x 18C/32T Xeons with 128GB ram and a P4000...
    It's satisfying to see all threads and RAM at 100% at the same time... Gotta love OpenMP.

    @Jackhead, what is cache and frequencies of your engineering sample?
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2019
    jollyroger and Traace like this.
  10. Traace

    Traace Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    70
    My workstation at home:
    2x 12C/24T Xeon X5670 with 96GB CL7 DDR3 ram and a RX 480 8GB
    It usually cross-compile arch linux i686 and arm packages inside VM's. Still very fast for such a old system.
    [​IMG]
    Sometimes you can grab these machines very cheap, too.
     
  11. -=FamilyGuy=-

    -=FamilyGuy=- Site Supporter 2049

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    1,033
    Nice setup!

    I don't own the one I use, sadly, I'm just crunching numbers on that thing. I couldn't afford it anyways (>10k CAD, and it's negligible vs the data acquisition card that's plugged into it).

    Still, it's a lot of fun to play with!
     
    Traace and jollyroger like this.
  12. -=FamilyGuy=-

    -=FamilyGuy=- Site Supporter 2049

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    1,033
    Wait, isn't that Xeon 6C/12T? So you have 24T total on the system?

    This would be basically the same workstations we had in 2012. Still very powerful nowadays, just upgrade to an SSD!

    The workstation I got right now has total 36C/72T. At the same frequency as my development i7-8550u 4C/8T laptop that I use to test the code, the workstation, with 9x the cores/threads, is at least 16x faster on parallel loads, often higher, probably because of cache/features.
     
  13. Traace

    Traace Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    70
    Yes, one Xeon is 6C/12T. But this Workstation has two of them in it (Sharing RAM via NUMA). Total usable 12C/24T :)

    I got a SATA SSD in it, too. The machine still handles all load easy. Only drawback is its doubled 95W TDP.
    Can't put a M.2 PCIe in it because I already used all slots. The machine is filled up. I didn't even had space left for the SAS Expander card. The solution was to power it up with a cheap x16 mining riser. While deliver data via two SAS cables going into the HBA card. The Expander now sits isolated near the drive bay.

    Indeed, the Cache size at these Xeons is just massive compared to its little brothers. It helps a lot when playing with big numbers :)
    Could you tell me the model name of the workstation at your work? I'm curious about it. Seems very powerful.
     
  14. -=FamilyGuy=-

    -=FamilyGuy=- Site Supporter 2049

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    1,033
    Technically, it's at university, not at work.

    It's a HP Z840 with dual Xeon E5-2697 v4. The cooling is good so it stabilizes at 2.7 GHz under continuous 100% load. It's very noisy though, but the environment is even noisier so you don't really hear it.
     
    Traace likes this.

Share This Page