Ecco 2 Beta files ?

Discussion in 'File Downloads - Share and Request' started by Evangelion, Sep 28, 2008.

  1. Evangelion

    Evangelion Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    2
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2008
    Storm likes this.
  2. Dreamcast

    Dreamcast Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    114
    Wow! Incredible find, Evangelion. Thank you for sharing this. It looks like it is indeed the illusive Ecco 2 beta. There are even two version of Atlantis (about a month between their "last modified" dates).

    The PVR files for the GD-ROM are just reused from the first Ecco.

    Hopefully someone knows how to get the game running. I tried using both the 51KB 0.bin file and the 2MB 0.bin file. I made IP0000.BIN and IP.BIN to load 0.bin instead of 1st_read.bin, but no luck. It stops at the license screen. The same thing that happens with AM2 games.
     
  3. Alchy

    Alchy Illustrious Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6,216
    Likes Received:
    21
    Thanks for sharing, Eva - very generous.
     
  4. Evangelion

    Evangelion Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think the two 0.bin are corrupted or something like that :(
     
  5. Dreamcast

    Dreamcast Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    114
    I just looked through the main 0.bin file (2MB) and it actually points to the development enviroment's directories instead of relative paths like you'd see in a commercial release, so I'm going to try structuring the drive exactly like it's outlined.

    Here is what it should look like:

    ECCO2\D1S1T1\(contents of the archive)
    ECCO2\D1S1T2\(contents of the archive)
    ECCO2\D1S1T3\(contents of the archive)
    ECCO2\D1S1T4\(contents of the archive)
    ECCO2\D1S1T5\(contents of the archive)

    *note, "contents of the archive" is all three folders and all of the files / folders therein. There will be a lot of redundant data (over 500MB in all), but it will guarantee nothing is missed.

    The 0.bin file is also looking for DUMMY.DAT in several folders, however that file doesn't exist.

    I think it's going to end up being more than just a problem with the directories since I should see GD-Workshop output a list of files it's trying to access in the output window. Right now, it just stops once 0.bin is loaded.

    I was able to get the intro screen for Lost Atlantis to show up (the upside down screen you see in the video) by using the 1st_read.bin file from the first Ecco game (they both use packaged GDE files). It starts to show the loading bar load, but stops at about 5%. That's with the file from the folder "atlantisz." If you use the default 180_alantis, it doesn't show the progress bar.

    Evangelion, could you try another recovery application to see if it yields any better results? Were any files visible or were they all deleted?

    One extra note: the other 0.bin file I found was actually an IP.BIN file.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 14, 2011
  6. beretta85

    beretta85 Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    2
    Oh wow. Screenshots?
     
  7. Dreamcast

    Dreamcast Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    114
    Here is the screenshot of the loading screen (see below). It seems like it's the only thing that works. I've tried some of the other levels, but they won't load. I get a screen with text that says "loading (name of the file it's loading)" and a line at the bottom. I'm guessing that's the screen you see when the file can't be loaded.

    I also can't get the menu to load in place of the original Ecco menu screen (what I have to use with the original Ecco 0.bin file).

    It's important to note that this appears to be a very early beta. The beta shown in the video was on a GD-R.

    Here are the directories I pulled from the 0.bin file with a script I wrote:

    \ECCO2\ECCO21~1.VDS
    \ECCO2\ECCO21~2.VDS
    \ECCO2\D1S1T1\C\SET5\UTILITY\GDWORK~1\ECCO2\DUMMY.DAT
    \ECCO2\D1S1T1\C\DCCD2\DUMMY.DAT
    \ECCO2\D1S1T1\C\IMAGE\MISC\ABSTRACT.TXT
    \ECCO2\D1S1T1\C\IMAGE\MISC\BIBLIOGR.TXT
    \ECCO2\D1S1T1\C\IMAGE\MISC\COPYRIGH.TXT
    \ECCO2\D1S1T2\C\DCCD2\DUMMY.DAT
    \ECCO2\D1S1T2\C\SET5\UTILITY\GDWORK~1\ECCO2\DUMMY.DAT
    \ECCO2\D1S2T3\C\DCCD2\DUMMY.DAT
    \ECCO2\D1S2T3\C\SET5\UTILITY\GDWORK~1\ECCO2\DUMMY.DAT
    \ECCO2\D1S2T4\C\DCCD2\DUMMY.DAT
    \ECCO2\D1S2T4\C\SET5\UTILITY\GDWORK~1\ECCO2\DUMMY.DAT
    \ECCO2\D1S2T5\C\ATLANT~1\180_AT~1.GDE
    \ECCO2\D1S2T5\C\DCCD2\CONFIG.TXT
    \ECCO2\D1S2T5\C\IMAGE\ROOT\0.BIN
    \ECCO2\D1S2T5\C\IMAGE\ROOT\0GDTEX.PVR
    \ECCO2\D1S2T5\C\IMAGE\ROOT\AUDIO64.DRV
    \ECCO2\D1S2T5\C\SET5\UTILITY\GDWORK~1\ECCO2\CONFIG.TXT
    \ECCO2\D1S2T5\K\!_ECCO~1\_DREAM~1\0GDTEX.PVR
    \ECCO2\D1S2T5\K\!_ECCO~1\_DREAM~1\AUDIO64.DRV
    \ECCO2\D1S2T5\S\ECCO_I~1\IMAGE\ROOT\0.BIN
    \ECCO2\D1S2T5\S\ECCO_I~1\IMAGE\MISC\ABSTRACT.TXT
    \ECCO2\D1S2T5\S\ECCO_I~1\IMAGE\MISC\BIBLIOGR.TXT
    \ECCO2\D1S2T5\S\ECCO_I~1\IMAGE\MISC\COPYRIGH.TXT

    (edit: corrected ecco2 (not echo2))
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2011
  8. accel99

    accel99 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    19
    i dont know squat about programming so iam just going to ask are all the model files there?maybe it cant load the models/other crucial piece of data properly?
     
  9. Dreamcast

    Dreamcast Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    114
    Aside from a few external sound files, all of the data is contained in the GDE files, so the GDE file could be corrupt. What's really interesting is that there is a file called "config.txt" and it contains a list of GDE packages to load. So, instead of loading the opening credits, menu, or prologue, you can immediately load a level after the "Licensed By" screen.

    The reason why the one Atlantis file will work seems to be because of a new format used for the packages. Almost all of the Ecco II GDE packages contain this header: "GDED BINARY FORMAT, VERSION 2.3.2.1." Everything will probably work fine if the Echo II 0.bin file can ever get past the "Licensed By" screen. My best guess is that it is trying to load something from an absolute path. Config.txt is my best guess.
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2008
  10. Evangelion

    Evangelion Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    2
    http://www.megaupload.com/fr/?d=SUNNHKN9
    DIRS with ecco2 files

    Others directories contain some files like commercial mp3 (Bowie etc...) May be the datas are corrupted or something like that.

    That's all i can extract from this HDD :(
     
  11. Dreamcast

    Dreamcast Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    114
    Thanks, Evangelion. I'm not sure why it's not working. Since I've had the "Licensed By" lockup with working AM2 games run through the dev box, the files might actually be fine. It might work if someone could turn it into a selfboot disc. I've tried making selfboot discs before and I just can't get it to work. Does anyone have experience with making selfbooting discs from raw dumps?
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2008
  12. Badxil

    Badxil Rising Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great find Evangelion, I will try to run this on my Katana too
     
  13. VitAmen

    VitAmen Guest

    i 'll give it a try with my devbox when i go back to athens. cool stuff.
     
  14. drx

    drx BLAST PROCESSING. SITE SUPPORTER 2015

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    280
    Hey, great find! And thanks for sharing :D
     
  15. Dreamcast

    Dreamcast Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    114
    I think I found another issue with the 2MB 0.bin file. It appears that it not only contains the 1st_read.bin data, but IP.bin data as well. Since it was recovered, it looks the recovery application combined files thinking it was part of the main file. That would explain the directory information (probably the remnants of the GDWorkshop files (HCD / VDS, etc)).

    There probably isn't anything we can do with this. The video demonstrating Ecco II had links to ASSEMbler and Segakatana at the end. If that person is a member here, hopefully he / she could, if not release the needed 1st_read / 0.bin file, let us know what we need to do to fix the file we have.

    Edit: The main 1st_read file appears to be corrupted beyond repair. There is a lot of redundant data and stuff that just shouldn't be there.
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2008
  16. Storm

    Storm Robust Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    1
    The data files are the most important, so thanks for extracting those!

    I tried loading some of the levels with a debug build of Ecco2 0.bin I happened to have laying around, but unfortunately it's also to old to load them. It bails out after reading one block in the same manner DC(tm)s did I would imagine. The code literally goes into an eternal loop if it doesn't like the file format.

    It's possible we could get it to load the levels (but probably be missing something) by just short-circuit some tests in the loader, but lets leave that until we have ruled out restoring the matching 0.bin.

    If at all possible, could you dump the HDD bit-for-bit and make available somewhere for someone to examine? If you haven't already made one I'll walk you through that if you want.

    You probably know this, but: Don't do anything with the HDD before you have raw-dumped all 4G of it. Most likely only 2G is interesting, but that depends on the developer using it.

    About the Bowie: 2-4G was nothing to sneeze at in the ninties, so developers sometimes used the Katanas as just another disk for their music and porn. In the process they destroyed all the sweet deleted files. :banghead:
     
  17. Dreamcast

    Dreamcast Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    114
    The importance of making a bit-for-bit dump is a great point and something that can't be stressed enough. I found the original "Babel" demo running recovery, unfortunately, the other content put on the drive by the developers corrupted it beyond repair. It even had the GD-Workshop project with it.

    Since the 0.bin file from Evangelion's drive is corrupted, I imagine that the map files are also corrupted. If a known packaging implementation like AFS had been used, we could extract the files and check for consistency. I can't find anything on the *.GDE format. The "binary" part leads me to believe it's some form of compression, so maybe there's a checksum?
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2008
  18. Storm

    Storm Robust Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ah, all the files where recovered from deletion? I (apparently misstakenly) thought the GDEs where never deleted.

    Do you have a pointer to the specification for AFS?
     
  19. Dreamcast

    Dreamcast Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    114
    I haven't found a really detailed specification outlining the header, but a developer by the name of Luigi has made the source available for his AFS extractor (here) (look under the XBOX section).
     
  20. neoblast

    neoblast Robust Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    3
    What stingerhu showed seemed to me more like an ecco 1 beta than an ecco2.
    Anyway I hope you guys manage to achieve something out of it.
    Count on me if you need any help, I don't have any devkit but maybe some debug through broadband...
     

Share This Page