DVD IDE on Dreamcast, is it possible?

Discussion in 'Sega Dreamcast Development and Research' started by LuizNai, Nov 30, 2017.

  1. fafadou

    fafadou Robust Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    60
    @megavolt85

    @megavolt85 : whaouh ! could tell us a little more ? Or maybe it's too soon ^^

    @LuizNai : so it's possible to use a dvd rom like an hdd with dreamshell. Have you already put your ide wire on your gdrom board ?
     
    LuizNai likes this.
  2. megavolt85

    megavolt85 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    80
    so far all in a debugging stage
    it is necessary to implant the new driver into KOS, most likely Blue Crab will do not miss such changes in an official repository and to us will have to create own branch of KOS
    at the moment the driver was tested in a linking of GDROM+HDD, DVDROM+HDD, HDD+HDD
    the game Milenium Soldier with a disk DVD is successfully tested
     
    fafadou and LuizNai like this.
  3. LuizNai

    LuizNai Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    119
    No, I´ve never tried to use a dvd rom like an hdd! But this is really really cool! I have to try that when the new version come with support!
     
  4. LuizNai

    LuizNai Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    119
    Wow, this is really cool!
     
  5. LuizNai

    LuizNai Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    119
    If you need any beta tester, please let me know! I'd love to do that!
     
    fafadou likes this.
  6. fafadou

    fafadou Robust Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    60
    You can't try to run a game from a dvd ide with dreamshell 4 rc4 ?
    If the dvd have a ide like you shown in your picture for me it's a same thing than an hdd.
    You can't run video directly but you should be run a game.
     
    LuizNai likes this.
  7. Korn16ftl3

    Korn16ftl3 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    13
    Hmm this is very interesting

    Hopefully a way to run any/all disc backups from a dvd drive rather than a GDROM will come out of this even if it's a new bios or whatever. It would be nice to be able to not have to mess with disc image sizes with down sampling and things like that to get nice 1:1 backups even tho CDDA is apparently posing an issue with this thought/method currently.
     

Share This Page