Dreamcast region free BIOS

Discussion in 'Sega Discussion' started by FireAza, Jun 28, 2012.

  1. Greg young

    Greg young Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is how mine looks now and working great finally
     

    Attached Files:

  2. l_oliveira

    l_oliveira Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,879
    Likes Received:
    245
    The reason why it's different is because VA0 Dreamcast uses5V ROM chip instead of 3.3v.
     
  3. Greg young

    Greg young Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea I already knew that . Hence why I pointed out that mmmonkey's instructions for wiring a VA0 5v chip is incorrect .
    I'm not bashing the hard work that was put into all the effort of figuring out this chip , simply the fact that no one followed up with clear or correct instructions on installation of both versions and both methods . Most people do the piggy back method on a VA1 so that's what was covered most clearly .
     
  4. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,491
    Likes Received:
    1,198
    That's because the mmmonkey guide isn't using a 5v chip.

    It's for using the 3.3v chip on a va0 console.

    You can see the part number of the chip in the pics.

    I also have install diagrams in my sales thread for both chips.
     
  5. Greg young

    Greg young Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    You mean this diagram that has nothing to do with the method of total bios swap as I did ?
    Maybe it is relevant but I'm not a tech and don't see the connection .

    I'll leave this alone as I can't seem to get the point across . All in all I'm up and running and without a doubt couldn't have done it of course without all yalls hard work , effort and help . I simply can't thank you enough overall .
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Greg young

    Greg young Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    And I wasn't aware that the chip on mmmonkey's VA0 board was 3.3v :/ I do see the LV on the chip now , it just didn't state that in the instructions above it and I didn't think anything about reading the what the chip said on it .

    Please don't take my comments the wrong way , I just got annoyed at all the different methods and IMO poor references to the ins and outs of swapping chips and VA0 boards .
     
  7. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,491
    Likes Received:
    1,198
    The install diagram shows how to install piggy back, but also gives all info you need to do total swap, just ignore the pin 12 connection.

    It shows you don't need to lift pin 23 and it shows where pin 1 and 44 connect -which is all the info you need.
     
  8. Greg young

    Greg young Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. APE

    APE Site Supporter 2015

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,412
    Likes Received:
    136
    It is fairly straight forward swap, it just doesn't hold your hand 100% because it assumes a certain level of skill. A level of skill requisite to doing the job correctly.

    Kinda like blaming the tools rather than the user. How many times have I seen someone use pliers to turn a nut and wonder why it got stripped.
     
  10. Greg young

    Greg young Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I truly couldn't agree more with you APE, I have great tools and great skills but I'm not inclined I guess I'd say . I'm more of a money see monkey do well type of guy . Most people wanting to do this mod is like me , we are gamers with a decent understanding but not inclined .
     
  11. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,491
    Likes Received:
    1,198
    Vga check patch is in the bios you have already
     
  12. Greg young

    Greg young Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah ok cool
     
  13. plx2001

    plx2001 Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I get to the extra settings page in that BIOS? (1.031.00)
     

Share This Page