Dreamcast proto/rip on emulator

Discussion in 'Sega Dreamcast Development and Research' started by Dabman, Jun 22, 2019.

  1. Dabman

    Dabman Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hei. Can anyone help me how to run proto/full rip on DC emulator?
    After unpacking file we can see few of them for example "Crazy_Taxi_2_(May_14,_2001_prototype).7z" inside is one folder "crazy taxi" and inside few files:
    How to make one file which i will be able to run in Reicast?
    ps. can i load Katana bios on Reicast emulator or any other emulator? and does anyone dump/share Katana bios?
    I am asking about Reicast because i will play alpha/demo/proto on Nintendo Switch
     
  2. darcagn

    darcagn Site Supporter 2013, Site Supporter 2014

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    296
    you can discard info.txt, ip.bin, and track.txt. Load disc.gdi in Reicast while the bin/raw tracks remain in the same folder.
     
  3. Dabman

    Dabman Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks, is any possibility to create one file which can be loaded by Reicast?
     
  4. Mrneo240

    Mrneo240 Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    624
    You could make a cdi from it sure. But why?
     
    Pikmin likes this.
  5. Flash

    Flash Dauntless Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    67
    you can convert it to chd to use with redream or Demul - saves a lot of space and also lossless, meaning you can extract gdi back from chd.
     
  6. -=FamilyGuy=-

    -=FamilyGuy=- Site Supporter 2049

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    1,046
    Why would you need that? As far as you're concerned, Reicast loads the gdi file. The gdi file in turn points to the proper tracks without your input.

    If you really need single files somehow, and also really need reicast, you should ask the developers to add support for CHD, like @Flash suggested.
     
  7. MetalliC

    MetalliC Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    133
    ask developers ? reicast, redream, Demul already supports CHDv5. NullDC supports older CHDv4 format.
     
  8. -=FamilyGuy=-

    -=FamilyGuy=- Site Supporter 2049

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,097
    Likes Received:
    1,046
    Then they can simply use it!

    The way @Flash worded his reply, it seemed to me like reicast didn't support CHD. I never used reicast or CHD files.
     
    darcagn likes this.

Share This Page