Dreamcast no video/sound

Discussion in 'Repair, Restoration, Conservation and Preservation' started by rafa_apm, Feb 1, 2016.

1. rafa_apm

rafa_apm Member

Hello.. I decided to pick up my old dreamcast from the closet..

I fired it up and I got no video/sound, but when I click the power button on the dc, the tv detects something because for 1sec I can see the screen flicker...

I taked it apart to look for some damaged components and I dont see anything that seems bad... Im not an expert though.

I tried 3 cables, rf, rca and one scart, I even hot wired a video rca jack to the pin 1 and 13 of the dc in last resource... and same result..

Is the dac dead like I read in some other topics? :/ I would like to play my old games :)

Many thanks

2. skyway1985

skyway1985 Enthusiastic Member

Rafa, did you clean the actual port out? i have a japanese one where it didn't work, the contacts were filthy. cleaned them off with isopropyl alcohol and BAM back in buisness

3. rafa_apm

rafa_apm Member

thanks for the aswner! I did not, just because the contacts on av port seems cristal clear, not dirty at all but I can give it a try...

4. skyway1985

mine looked clean, but the swab said otherwise lol

5. rafa_apm

rafa_apm Member

just did that, cleaned it with isopropyl alcohol and a swab and no luck :/ the swab came out almost clean and I rubbed it well :)

more ideas? many thanks

6. skyway1985

i know it sounds wierd, but smack the side of it. i have one that stays black unless i smack the side and never isolated the issue.

7. rafa_apm

rafa_apm Member

thanks again for the input... I just did that, smacked from the both sides some times, softer then a litle harder lol... and wigled the av cable to see if bad conection but same :/

when turn the DC on, it flickers the screen and no video/sound

8. rafa_apm

rafa_apm Member

Hello any sugestions? :) Do a reflow on the main board can help?