Dreamcast hard drive mod

Discussion in 'Sega Dreamcast Development and Research' started by moonchilde, Jan 14, 2019.

1. moonchilde

moonchilde Papa Claw & Paw

I'm sure this has already been covered, but has anyone had any luck with SATA to IDE converters and a small SSD? Using a SSD may seem like overkill, but it's not about the speed it's about moving parts and the fact I'll be traveling with it to tournaments and weekly casuals. Magnetic disk is not a risk I want to take with it possibly getting bumped around and going through airport security.

I'm looking at the SATA to IDE at $9.99 and a 60 gb SSD for $17.99. That's really not bad for a seemingly simple and cheap mod. Much more cost effective than a GDEMU. Form factor is not an issue as the DC guts are going to be ripped out and the old shell retired, and placed into a new one with various mods added to it.

I'm a little new to this, but what would I miss by going this route over GDEMU?

2. Anthony817

Anthony817 Familiar Face

Compatibility. You loose the 100% compatibility that the other solutions provide. Japanese-Cake is actually working on removing all protections from Bleemcast PSX retail emulator discs, so we should be able to actually finally play the 3 PSX games Metal Gear Solid, Gran Turismo 2, and Tekken 3 on our GDEMU's. Dreamshell and the IDE mod is unfortunately still not 100% compatible, so there are a lot of games you won't get to play. I am not up to date with the compatibility of Dreamshell, but you have to factor that in. Once we get Bleem fully working, then nothing beats a GDEMU clone for $70 free shipping. You can get a 128gb micro sd card for about $30 and throw on over 100 games easily.

Here is my SD card which is 100% compatible.

https://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-Micr...WO/?tag=bingshoppinga-20&linkCode=df0&hvadid={creative}&hvpos={adposition}&hvnetw=o&hvrand={random}&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=e&hvdev=c&hvdvcmdl={devicemodel}&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=&hvtargid=pla-4584070138235962&psc=1