Dreamcast Fan Replacement

Discussion in 'Sega Dreamcast Development and Research' started by Nopileus, Jul 19, 2015.

  1. Rez

    Rez Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting.
     
  2. Sp33dFr34k

    Sp33dFr34k Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    32
    Definitely interesting, also hate the noise mine makes. Will closely follow this thread, hopefully there will be a solution to this problem.
     
  3. retronerd

    retronerd Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    5
    Can this be dome on a VA0 Motherboard?
     
  4. Collingall

    Collingall Robust Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    129
    Not yet, it will take a much different design to be able to replace the VA0 fan with a bigger and quieter one. I have a mostly functional duct designed for it, the issue I'm running into is space. There just isn't enough room for a 40mm fan, so I've started to look for another option.
     
  5. retronerd

    retronerd Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    5
  6. Collingall

    Collingall Robust Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    129
    VA1 motherboards don't need the heatpipe heatsink, they work just fine with the aluminum plate on the metal rf shielding, the fan mount in this thread works just fine with the VA1 shells and you can fit the bigger quieter fan in the system. The system relies on checking if the fan is spinning to determine if there is a chance of a thermal issue. So you need a fan that can tell the system it's speed.

    The VA0 motherboard does require the heat piped heatsink, and it's speciality fan. The heatpipe has a thermistor mounted to it that shut off the system in the event of a thermal problem. I'm trying to find a small blower fan to use with the duct I made.
     
  7. retronerd

    retronerd Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    5
    I understand that, shall i just add some aluminium on the ounderside of the shielding and dont use the heatsink? I also need an va1 controllerport.
     
  8. citrus3000psi

    citrus3000psi Housekeeping, you want towel?

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    414
    Curious to know what you come up with. I rock a VA0 as well. The stock fan just sits so close the grill on the outer case. I always thought it would be cool to have a pusher fan on the opposite side.
     
  9. megavolt85

    megavolt85 Robust Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2015
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    378
    No fan Check for VA1

    [​IMG]

     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2017
  10. GillBert

    GillBert Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    38
    Alternatively, here's another way to bypass FAN check (just wire pin 16 of IC305 to L301):

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2017
  11. retronerd

    retronerd Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    5
    Do i need the resistor if i use an 5v noctua fan?
     
  12. Collingall

    Collingall Robust Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    129
    Yes unless you do one of the mods in the previous two posts.
     
  13. retronerd

    retronerd Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    5
    But i have an VA1 board i tought the resistor turned down the faan speed?
     
  14. Collingall

    Collingall Robust Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    129
    We were using the resistor to override the fan check. The tach signal from the original fan is different from what the Noctua outputs, so if you just hooked it up the Dreamcast wouldn't boot. If you put the resistor across the 5v and tach signals the Dreamcast ignores the fan tach signal and boots.
     
  15. -=FamilyGuy=-

    -=FamilyGuy=- Site Supporter 2049

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,910
    Likes Received:
    728
    I think it uses the signal from the fan, instead of blindly bypassing it.
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2017
  16. Collingall

    Collingall Robust Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    129
    I'll confirm this tonight, I thought it booted without a fan but maybe I'm remembering wrong. It's possible it steps up the tach signal to what the Dreamcast is looking for.
     
  17. retronerd

    retronerd Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have the noctua fan, im going to hardwire it but wich pins go where? on DC pcb it says 1 2 3 and i have yellow, red, black from my noctua. thanks
     
  18. Collingall

    Collingall Robust Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    129
    The center is ground, 5v is the pin closest to the front of the system, Tach is the pin closest to the GDRom.
     
  19. retronerd

    retronerd Spirited Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    5
    Do you mean on the dreamcast or on the fan?
     
  20. Collingall

    Collingall Robust Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    129
    On the Dreamcast, the fan is wired
    Red - 5v
    Black - ground
    Yellow - tach
    There is a diagram in the first post if you want a visual
     
    jopamo likes this.

Share This Page