Dreamcast 60fps codes

Discussion in 'Sega Dreamcast Development and Research' started by asasega, Nov 15, 2017.

  1. ENunn

    ENunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't find any of these codes. Which one is the one I replace?
     
  2. piyosuke

    piyosuke Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sur.asasega
    I would appreciate it if you tell me 60fps buttles hexedit code for Grandia 2 JPN .
    I already found 60fps codes for Code Breaker
    in widescreen thread (made by Esppiral)
    But I want to hexedit GDrom files .

     
  3. Mrneo240

    Mrneo240 Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    621
    Can someone please explain how to use this info? im not terribly familiar with Cheat Engine and i dont know what specific version of demul he was referring to.
     
  4. pitito

    pitito Rising Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    42
    I need hex code for the Pal versión, please
     
  5. Wesker

    Wesker Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    16
    Never mind.
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2018
  6. pitito

    pitito Rising Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    42
    I tried patching the versión US Star Wars - Episode I - Racer T23001N V1.001 in offset 1AE4DE4A changing the value to 88 3C, but the game freezes nothing you start.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2018
  7. Anthony817

    Anthony817 Familiar Face

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    595
    @Esspiral Adam Koralik posted a video with James Reiner about 60fps and Shenmue 1 & 2 HD release, but I don't think they ever saw your post here about trying to make it true 60fps.



    I wonder how hard it would be to actually mod the game on PC to use your animation fix? I know it restarts every time you enter a new area disabling the fix but maybe something could be done easier on PC than the emulated version?
     
    MastaG and fafadou like this.
  8. Esppiral

    Esppiral Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    1,115
    You can hex exit the game to make it permanent.

    Haven't seen the video, but animations and cutscenes animations are not keyframed or frame rate dependant, you can slow down or speed up any animation and it will play smoothly.
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2018
    Anthony817 likes this.
  9. asasega

    asasega Rising Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    72
    Proppeler Arena CDI file found on http://hiddenpalace.org/Propeller_Arena_(Sep_11,_2001_prototype)

    60fps
    000C6E8A
    00000001

    search for 0B D1 02 E2 22 21 0B D1
    replace with 0B D1 01 E2 22 21 0B D1

    @pitito , you have a different dump then the one I used to make the code, use the code breaker which will work with every dump, off course has to be the same region
    If you insist on hexediting, at that addres there should be the value 3D088889, off course reversed 8988983D, and you modify 3D08 into 3C88, again reversed

    @ENunn use the codebreaker code, which works, in my dump at that offset I have 324C which is hex for add R4, R2 which we have to nop so it becomes 0900

    @piyosuke I don't have the japanese version, but you can port it from the one I posted, if you have acces to both dumps

    @Esppiral did you try that no dithering Crazy taxi code? that I posted, you seemed very interested in no dithering for DC games
     
    Esppiral, fafadou and Anthony817 like this.
  10. asasega

    asasega Rising Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    72
    @Mrneo240 what info do you need exactly? English in not my first language, I tried to explain the best I could

    Don't want to advertise, but I have to mention that Redream emulator can be overclocked to 400 Mhz fot the main SH4 cpu, and I tested the emu with my codes and they all work without slowdowns. Is the only emu that I managed to overclock without side effects and is the only at least for me that works with nice smooth scrolling without hiccups and stuttering etc...
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2019
    Anthony817 likes this.
  11. americandad

    americandad Familiar Face

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,441
    Likes Received:
    276
    What game are you talking about?
     
  12. Esppiral

    Esppiral Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    1,115
    Sorry my memory may be failing, what code?
     
  13. asasega

    asasega Rising Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    72
    americandad and Anthony817 like this.
  14. Esppiral

    Esppiral Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    1,115
    Sure I am super interested in that, but I don't remember seeing your post lol

    I'll take a look at it.

    Thanks!
     
    Anthony817 likes this.
  15. pepodmc

    pepodmc Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  16. fafadou

    fafadou Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    202
    Exactly you have to do that.
     
  17. asasega

    asasega Rising Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    72
    @pepodmc
    No
    010CC248 RAM ADDRESS
    00000009 VALUE
    This is a codebreaker code, first line is a RAM address, second line is the value to be written there.
    The address line is the folowing format
    0Xaaaaaa, where X is code type, aaaaaa is RAM adrress
    X=0 means we modify only a byte
    X=1 means we modify two bytes
    X=2 means we modify four bytes

    Hexediting has nothing to do with that, at least not the RAM address

    If you have the same dump as me, then if you load up track5.bin in hexeditor and you go to offset 3979D388 you have to have 4C32 and you change this to 0900. If you have other value at that offset it means that you have a different dump, and the modification will not work like @pitito experienced with when he tried to modify Star Wars

    I apologise to everyone, It was my mistake to assume hexediting and codebreaker knowledge from the users
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2019
    pepodmc and fafadou like this.
  18. fafadou

    fafadou Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    202
    Thanks for your post, I'm sorry too, I answered too quickly...
     
  19. pepodmc

    pepodmc Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks man!!
     
  20. pepodmc

    pepodmc Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks it works.

    Can you make a code for the sounds and music of the game "star wars episode 1 racer" ?
    Because the 60 fps code works perfect, but with it the sounds is crackling
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2019

Share This Page