cpu upgrade

Discussion in 'Xbox (Original console)' started by somacast, Aug 6, 2018.

  1. somacast

    somacast Rising Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    hi,

    I am quite familiar with xbox modding using mod chip etc, now i do have an extra console and i wanna give it 128 mb mod which is quite easy and well explained at many videos, however I couldn't find a single tutorial about the cpu mod, which cpu do I need, adapters if any , etc, i do have a small reworking station, and wanna give it a try, my skills with soldering are good to very good.
     
  2. zzattack

    zzattack Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2014
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    46
    small rework station won't do much good on large components like a cpu
     
    somacast and Bad_Ad84 like this.
  3. somacast

    somacast Rising Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    no problem i can get that, just is there a tutorial???
     
  4. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,237
    Likes Received:
    1,052
    No.

    General jist is - if you are good enough to replace the CPU, you can figure it out.
     
    somacast and Taijigamer2 like this.
  5. somacast

    somacast Rising Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    fine , so what cpu should i buy? and will it replace directly? or using another adapter? and will i find stencil for it? thnx
     
  6. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,237
    Likes Received:
    1,052
    to use 1.4ghz, you need to make your own custom adapter.

    You dont just buy the stuff for this, you need to design and make it.
     
    somacast likes this.
  7. somacast

    somacast Rising Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    mm , i c , i thought it was possible to do it myself , then i guess i will be left with ram mod ,
     
  8. Syclopse

    Syclopse .

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,419
    Likes Received:
    485
    Anthony817, zzattack and somacast like this.
  9. somacast

    somacast Rising Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    finally the kind of helpful reply I was looking for, thank you.
     
  10. Muramasa

    Muramasa Rising Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    33
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2018
    somacast likes this.
  11. somacast

    somacast Rising Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    so by any chance do you have the full ingredients of the mod? I can see from the info provided by Syclopse above that this could be the one ? http://www.powerleap.com/pdf_files/PL-P4N.pdf ,

    would appreciate if you can share what you know so far , thanks
     
  12. Elurin

    Elurin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Perhaps you should contact N64 Freak. He is the last one to have figured this out and sells modded consoles. However I think he needed a year to get it all going. Remember also that Friendtech is/was a company that made their own consoles before also doing CPU upgrades. So they were professionals.
     
    somacast likes this.
  13. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,237
    Likes Received:
    1,052
    N64 freak will not share the information.

    It's been asked before.
     
    somacast likes this.
  14. somacast

    somacast Rising Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    ok thanks for the info, i might just drop the cpu idea due to lack of details and iam a mechanical Engineer who loves electronics and thats not enough to customize my own .. plus ive read that it has compatibility issues with a few games
    well , its his right after all , no issues, thnx
     

Share This Page