Carmageddon TV (PC/PS2/GC - 2005)

Discussion in 'Unreleased Games Discussion' started by Ludoscience, Nov 27, 2015.

1. Ludoscience

Ludoscience Member

Hello there!

I'm a bit of amateur historian, and I love unreleased games. On my free time, I try to do interviews with developers of cancelled games to learn more about them. One of my first "discoveries" is a gameplay video of a cancelled episode of the Carmageddon series.

[​IMG]

In 2003, SCi, publisher of the game series, started the development of a fourth episode. Titled Carmageddon TV, this new episode tries to explore a new direction. The universe is "rebooted": the game is now set in a "reality-TV" show, but the game still features a lot of car crushing and pedestrian violence. Unfortunately, the project was cancelled in 2005 by SCi. From what I've been told, the game was in a "pre-alpha" stage when it got cancelled. About 4 playable levels, a bunch of cars, and a lot of pedestrians to run over (including animals in the Zoo level) were working in the final build. Here is a short gameplay video I've been able to uncover:

This game wasn't developed by the original creator of the series, but by a British studio called Visual Sciences, which unfortunately closed doors with this project cancellation. This could have been the final point of the beloved car smasher games series. Hopefully, Stainless Studios, the creators of the first two games (the best ones!) finally released a 4th episode called Carmageddon Reincarnation earlier this year :).

kennypecheur likes this.
  2. MBMM

MBMM Powered by Pied Piper

Pretty sure @HEX1GON might have some knowledge on this.

3. HEX1GON

HEX1GON FREEZE! Scumbag

4. Ludoscience

Ludoscience Member

Woaw, great concepts, I wasn't aware of them!

Thanks @HEX1GON for sharing them, great find!