Black/corrupt screenshot (PrtSc key) from PC game

Discussion in 'Computer Gaming Forum' started by Tyree_Cooper, Feb 5, 2019.

  1. Tyree_Cooper

    Tyree_Cooper Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    41
    So there's a pc game I want to take a screenshot of, it's a compilation of Rockman games. Whenever I take a screenshot with PrtSc, it shows up either completely black, or black/white completely corrupt (I can see the image is there, but like swimming in black ink).

    Also tried with 3rd party screenshot programs, works great with a few other games I tested, only this one EXE file screws up all the screenshots.

    Tried setting the EXE to Win 95 mode and 256 colours, no difference!

    Any ideas? I googled a while and found nobody with the same issue.
     
  2. Nully

    Nully Dauntless Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    102
    Maybe try Steam.
     
  3. Tyree_Cooper

    Tyree_Cooper Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    41
    nice try there;)
     
  4. Nully

    Nully Dauntless Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    102
    Not sure what you mean. You can use Steam as a launcher for the game then the overlay will let you take a screenshot with F12. Had a similar issue long ago that this worked fine for.
     
  5. Tyree_Cooper

    Tyree_Cooper Peppy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    41
    Nothing personal, there's just no way I'm installing that program:)
     
  6. PixelButts

    PixelButts Site Soldier

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    1,794
    Doublecheck that it's running in borderless windowed mode. It sounds to me like you're trying to screenshot it in fullscreen mode which always results in a black screen (though there are exceptions)
    I'd say try the steam solution but you already said no to that.
    If you're running windows 10 there's the Xbox DVR/Game Bar which allows screenshotting as well
    upload_2019-2-5_19-52-27.png
     
    Nully likes this.

Share This Page