Best PlayStation 1 model?

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by ollidab, Apr 23, 2014.

  1. master991

    master991 Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    28
    sems the bios was already changed ....
     
  2. Segata Sanshiro

    Segata Sanshiro speedlolita

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    11
    That's what I'm thinking. Perhaps by Sony themselves for whatever reason?
     
  3. master991

    master991 Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    28
    I don't think it's a Sony job....
    Change your bios with one of another model (if you use an US\PAL type you must say goodbye to the japanese menù) and replace that modchip, or at least, remove all the rust traces on the scotch....
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2014
  4. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,605
    Likes Received:
    1,376
    Interestingly, I am doing a bios swap right this second on a PU-8 SCPH-5003.

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    Edit:
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2014
  5. NeC5552

    NeC5552 All your skullz are belong to us.

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    8
    That REALLY is a 5003?Then it's possible the 5002 was the same.
     
  6. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,605
    Likes Received:
    1,376
    yes its a 5003. not sure what the rest of your post means though
     
  7. TriMesh

    TriMesh Site Supporter 2013-2017

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,357
    Likes Received:
    779
    So they do exist, that's interesting. From the look of that big cap, it's got the universal input PSU in it but I presume from the fact that you're swapping the boot ROM that it has a Japanese one and not US?

    I wonder where they were being sold? I can't remember ever seeing one in HK.
     
  8. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,605
    Likes Received:
    1,376
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2014
  9. Getta Robo

    Getta Robo Robust Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    26
    Neat mod Bad_Ad84. Did you flashed the same bios 5003 came with, or some other version? It is possible to flash and run a dev/debug bios on a retail ps1, such as your 5003?
     
  10. Segata Sanshiro

    Segata Sanshiro speedlolita

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    11
    Now I have a SCPH-5500 and SCPH-1000 in my possession they both require two mods to play any region.

    The SCPH-5500 will need a SCPH-5501 BIOS and a US Mayumi V4 chip and the SCPH-1000 will need that "ps-10j.bin" BIOS and a Mayumi 2.1 - may just keep the 1000 stock I guess?

    Do you think it would be possible to mod the PSU so that it uses components that don't heat up so much? I noticed how warm my 1000 was even 10 minutes after playing for about 15 minutes prior. If I could fix this I'd be more than happy to go for the 1000.

    Seems as if the shielding is covering the vents on the bottom too, worth tidily dremeling the grooves away?
     
  11. NeC5552

    NeC5552 All your skullz are belong to us.

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    8
    What I meant is if that's how 5003 looks then 5002 might be the PAL equivalent.
     
  12. master991

    master991 Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    28
    But, i don't know what's the reason to insert a PAL\US bios in an early PU7 or P-8 motherboard. At this point you have mobo like a PAL\US modded model no? Mechacon at this point has no importance (because of the modchip) and the bios lost the "fascion" giapanese character in the menù....
    Better buy a US\PAL scph 100x directly no?
     
  13. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,605
    Likes Received:
    1,376
    I am using the SCPH-1000 jap bios without the additional check.
     
  14. Getta Robo

    Getta Robo Robust Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    26
    I had this idea regarding bios swapping for quite some time now! It is possible that you could make some sort of guide here or on mr monkey about that? I have several questions about it, could I post them here I would that be consider thread derailing?
     
  15. NeC5552

    NeC5552 All your skullz are belong to us.

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    8
    Since you had the modchip in there,you could even use the US version of the BIOS.(1001)
     
  16. Segata Sanshiro

    Segata Sanshiro speedlolita

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    11
    But that isn't even remotely exotic.
     
  17. Segata Sanshiro

    Segata Sanshiro speedlolita

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    11
    Also with the cap blown in my 100V SCPH-1000 board I need a replacement for a 150uF 200V cap. I noticed on an audio forum someone added one with a higher uF value, is this okay?

    I ask because ordering a decent quality 150uF 200V appears to be in the region of a tenner posted on eBay.
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2014
  18. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,605
    Likes Received:
    1,376
    Panasonics are like £1 from farnell.

    If you have an RS near by, they do packs of 5 for a fiver.
     
  19. TriMesh

    TriMesh Site Supporter 2013-2017

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,357
    Likes Received:
    779
    That's unlucky - in my experience most SPCH-1000s have the old boot ROM that will boot imports with no problems.

    Incidentally, if you change the Boot ROM in the SCPH-5500 you will still have to use a Japanese modchip, since it has to match the mechacon, not the boot ROM.
     
  20. Segata Sanshiro

    Segata Sanshiro speedlolita

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    11
    Oh, that saves one step at least.

    I've identified the transistor (heat source) in the PlayStation PSU as this and was hoping to replace it with something that doesn't get as toasty - if this is possible. Any ideas?

    The other thing I could try is new thermal paste and enlarging the heatsink too, I guess.

    Also it appears as if this might be a suitable replacement for the 150uF 200V cap in the SCPH-1000 PSU. Link.
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2014

Share This Page