Atari 2600/5200/7800 RGB or True Digital HDMI Mods?

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by MonkeyBoyJoey, Mar 3, 2015.

1. MonkeyBoyJoey

MonkeyBoyJoey 70's Robot Anime GEPPY-X (PS1) Fanatic

Hello everyone. This is something that has been on my mind for a while. Can the Atari 2600/5200/7800 consoles be modified for RGB? I've heard whispers around the web but no concrete answers. I would love to play Asteroids via RGB SCART! Is a true digital HDMI mod possible too, like the recent NESHD mod? Any help would be highly appreciated! Also, I should mention that I'm new at the inner workings of electronics so please forgive me if I don't understand some things.

2. wilykat

wilykat Site Supporter 2013

Those game consoles originally can only do composite and with some effort, S-Video. You will need to do a chip replacement to get better signal out of those Atari systems. The video chips were never designed to have high quality output.

Your best bet is to find someone who can hack the console and build a custom interface like NESRGB board to generate proper RGB, HDMI, or component.

Atari 2600 will be a bitch to build RGB board because it doesn't use video RAM at all. The video is drawn on the fly as the game runs, I hear it takes an average of 80% of CPU power just to maintain video image while leaving small part to actually run game code.

3. MonkeyBoyJoey

Is there someone on here that can do that? Does the 2600 really do that? What was Atari thinking during development... Would that also apply to the 5200 (with VCS adapter) and the 7800 running 2600 games?

4. wilykat