Are people still looking for these?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 Development' started by Kao, Nov 14, 2018.

  1. Kao

    Kao Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    296
    [​IMG]

    Not sure what interest there is in this, if it's just the hard drive people want cloned or what.
     
    nullChar, Blob, Dandu and 6 others like this.
  2. Stipo360

    Stipo360 DEAD RISING // XDKs

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,096
    Likes Received:
    455
    Does it still boot into the Xenon OS? :eek:
     
  3. Kao

    Kao Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    296
    Pretty sure it does. It's been in storage for a long time, so I'd have to find cables to confirm.
     
  4. teckman02

    teckman02 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    29
    id love to see a boot video of it running
     
    Kao likes this.
  5. Shadha

    Shadha Rising Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    32
    can you open it and show us the insides and the video card?
    its very simple to open
     
  6. Stipo360

    Stipo360 DEAD RISING // XDKs

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,096
    Likes Received:
    455
    The communities biggest interest would definitely be a clone of that drive, as currently Xenon OS is still oddly private. Would be a huge help to get more info and accessibility out there to people recreating their own alpha kits.
     
  7. ItsMeMario

    ItsMeMario Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    126
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2018
  8. Shadha

    Shadha Rising Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    32
    thoes recoveries are not nearly early enough :(
     
  9. ItsMeMario

    ItsMeMario Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    126
    Ooohhhh...okay, sorry :S
     
  10. Shadha

    Shadha Rising Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    32
    i think the latest a alpha can use is 1600 somewhere close to that idk the exact numbers
    but you need more then just a recovery to get them to boot they certainly are a interesting beast
     
  11. Kao

    Kao Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    296
    Oh, that's really cool that this could help people researching this hardware. I didn't realize there was so little documentation on this.

    I'm hesitant to install anything new on it, but I'm happy to try photographing some of the guts and seeing what I can do about powering it on for you all. It's kind of buried behind stuff at the moment (that's a photo I took a few months ago), but I'll try to get what you're asking for.
     
    just1n and pool7 like this.
  12. Syclopse

    Syclopse .

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    506
    Normal power cord, USB mouse & keyboard and a DVI to VGA adapter is all that's needed.
    Before powering it on please open the side panel and confirm there is no white residue on the bottom of the case, if there is do not power it up.
     
  13. teckman02

    teckman02 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    29
    ???
     
  14. AUSTIN PEYTON

    AUSTIN PEYTON Peppy Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    190
    This is some cool stuff dude
    Thanks for sharing
    Not too much info regarding this beast
     
  15. Shadha

    Shadha Rising Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    32
    What kind of video card syclopse
     
  16. Syclopse

    Syclopse .

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    506
    The cooling system in these towers fail and leak. Video cards are spec'd out in other threads here on AG but the search system lacks.

    Edit: ATI X800XT 256MB was one of the 2 cards used.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2018
    Shadha likes this.
  17. teckman02

    teckman02 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2017
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    29
    that's right the early g5 heatsink's were water cooled I keep thinking that they were made by Delphi you can covert them to air cooled
    if anyone needs them I have the apple G5 service manuals
     
  18. Alpha Disruptor

    Alpha Disruptor Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    16
    The PowerMac G5 model used by Microsoft for the Alpha G5 kit was not liquid cooled.

    Only the 2.5 and 2.7 GHz DP models had it and were prone to failure (the later PowerPC 970MP Quad Core model had a better liquid cooling system).
     
    bowser22 likes this.
  19. TriMesh

    TriMesh Site Supporter 2013-2017

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,154
    Likes Received:
    643
    At least back then Apple used to stand behind their products. I had one of those machines with the leaky liquid cooling system that was stuck in the dark at the back of my desk and I never realized it until I turned it on one day and the power supply went bang.

    So I took it into Apple to get a repair quote (since it was well out of warranty and I didn't have Applecare) and they called me up about a week later and told me I could come and pick it up - they had done a free-of-charge swap with a new system and just transferred the HDDs and RAM (both of which were undamaged) from the old one.

    I'm sure if the same thing happened today they would find some way to weasel out of fixing it.
     
  20. Durandal

    Durandal Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    58
    Even the Apple of then probably wasn't supposed to do that, I'm guessing you got lucky with your local store.

    @Kao Anyway, back to the G5 kit: yes people are still interested! As others have said, it's best to take the side off and inspect the system for residue before powering it up. Maybe show us some photos too if you can.
     

Share This Page