AKURA Dreamcast HDMI Box

Discussion in 'Sega Dreamcast Development and Research' started by beharius, Dec 11, 2016.

  1. beharius

    beharius Resolute Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    101
    TBA, close to Toro...
     
  2. beharius

    beharius Resolute Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    101
    Akura will be sold for $85 including shipping.
    Preorders will be taken from February 7th...
    Deliveries will start in March.
     
    stoney05, Bill, bigjc1000 and 11 others like this.
  3. Antoniofurtadodias

    Antoniofurtadodias Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    How can I mais a preorder?
     
  4. beharius

    beharius Resolute Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    101
    We will open the Akura page in a few hours. @beharbros.com
     
    jetsfan4ever80 likes this.
  5. beharius

    beharius Resolute Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    101
    Woofmute, RXShorty and truemaster1 like this.
  6. truemaster1

    truemaster1 Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    331
    wow time for hdmi
     
  7. dj898

    dj898 Site Supporter 2015

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3,325
    Likes Received:
    56
    Ordered one!
     
  8. S4pph4rad

    S4pph4rad Site Supporter 2015

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    114
    Has anything changed since the initial videos that were posted regarding the borders on the left and right? Is it still not possible to configure the device to stretch video horizontally to fill the screen? Do we know yet if it supports uncommon VGA modes like the 740x416 widescreen mode supported by Pier Solar HD?

    Really tempted to order one, but I'm not interested in scanline features and my TV supports VGA, so I'm hoping there's some advantage other than having one ready in case I ever decide to buy a new TV.
     
  9. beharius

    beharius Resolute Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    101
    I will test the widescreen mode today. I couldn't find the Pier Solar game. Probably it can support it. Some games do have a border on the left, some can be centered from the game settings menu. Interestingly image on the PAL DC is centered better. Some TVs can allow image centering too.
    more videos can be found here:
    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLuqM8aK5ZK-DgfXxpshvow
     
  10. beharius

    beharius Resolute Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    101
    Widescreen is working, but will test more games tomorrow to confirm
     
    Woofmute and RXShorty like this.
  11. Meringues

    Meringues <B>Site Supporter 2014</B>

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    19
    pre ordered!
     
  12. jopamo

    jopamo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    First post! Pre-ordered!
    Looking forward to this. Thanks.
     
  13. Rez

    Rez Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh man, Dreamcast overload!! I've had my GDEMU for awhile but had issues with 90% of games not working. I have an Aussie PAL DC. Not sure if there is an issue with the model I have. I got it as my disc drive was having issues reading my original games. A week ago I discovered GDMENU which shows a game list when booting and all games work now. Yay for Capcom vs SNK2.

    Now found this by random chance after googling something elsefor the dreamcast this morning. What timing. Xmas for the dreamcast is coming in one go. This will remove the need for my VGA box which I currently have connected to a VGA to HDMI upscaler. No more need for all the cables.

    However, I'm assuming I will stick get the black line on the right side due to the aspect ratio? I run a 32" Sony bravia, so may still need an upscaler to bring it up to 1080p? I hope it fills the full screen. I will also have to wait to see if it upscales on my 4k 55" Bravia.

    Either way, this has been pre-ordered!!
     
  14. beharius

    beharius Resolute Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    101
    You don't need an upscaler for it, since your TV will do the job and scales to its native resolution. There are always borders, each game is different though, some allows to adjust the screen for centering.
     
  15. Cloudius

    Cloudius Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    6
    Preorderd!
     
  16. truemaster1

    truemaster1 Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    331
    widescreen patches are helping with black boarders??
     
  17. beharius

    beharius Resolute Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    101
    Only Virtua Tennis was tested so far, there are borders. More tests will be done next week.
     
  18. moonchilde

    moonchilde Papa Claw & Paw

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    10
    Is there any way to solder this up direct to the video and audio chips on the DC to bypass the analog to digital conversion? If so, I would buy this right now.
     
  19. beharius

    beharius Resolute Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    101
    The IC we used is converting analog to digital only, it can't be used for that purpose. It doesn't have a digital input.
    It should be difficult to stack up everything inside the DC, both Gdemu+Hdmi board. In the end it's not difficult to develop an hdmi board for the DC. A friend here developed an HDMI and VGA upscaler/scanliner for the
    Neo Geo using the digital video lines in just few days unlike the one in the Neo Geo forums(2 years+) ... Because everything is ready, if you know how to cook the ingredients, it's very easy. The source code for the fpga is freely available. However the concern is only people who knows soldering can install it. Or you need to pay someone else for the job. It's really difficult to create a product from a prototype on the breadboard.
    Here is the MVS upscaler I mentioned:
    http://hizliresim.com/jX1WZg
     
  20. jopamo

    jopamo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2017
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    @moonchilde
    It looks like the internal HDMI mod may not be arriving any time soon as you saw in the other thread. This might be the best option right now. Why not give this a try?
     

Share This Page