3DO 240p output - VP536A encoder

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by airs, Feb 6, 2015.

  1. Friend of Sonic

    Friend of Sonic Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    3
    Did anyone ever figure out 240p on the combined encoder on late FZ-10 systems? I don't think so based on what I'm seeing.
     
  2. Taijigamer2

    Taijigamer2 Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    200
    According to the service manual, http://www.retrorgb.com/files/3DO/PanasonicFZ10.pdf
    There is no clear pin which controls progressive scan, or RGB pins for that matter. We would need the datasheet for the ANVIL encoder to find out if there's any software bits that can be set to control the output. From what I could find, 3DO teamed up with ARM to develop all-in-1 chips. From this, Anvil was developed. ARM may have the datasheet somewhere.

    So far, FZ-1 with BT9103 or VP536 encoder can be 240p modded along with -
    FZ-10 - VP536
    Goldstar GDO101 - VP536
    Sanyo try - VP536

    Early FZ-1 (BT9101), FZ-10 or Goldstar GDO202 (Alive II) with Anvil can't be modded.
     
  3. Friend of Sonic

    Friend of Sonic Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    3
    I wonder if anyone has ever checked that Russian forum. There's a lot of discussion about 3DO, but of course, it's in Russian...
     
  4. Taijigamer2

    Taijigamer2 Gutsy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    200
    I check in to 3doplanet.ru from time to time, those guys know their stuff. Mnemo is a mod there, who created the 3DO usb controller.

    There is no in depth info on the Anvil that I can find. I've searched the Internet but no luck. If u want RGB and 240p, change the FZ-10 for an early FZ-10 or Goldstar. Some FZ-1 can also do 240p.
     
  5. Friend of Sonic

    Friend of Sonic Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    3
    Fair enough, I am invested on the install of his kit on the FZ-10. Bummer that I didn't luck out there.
     
  6. Greg2600

    Greg2600 Resolute Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    112
    Hi, so I had my friend wire me a switch to do this mod for 240p. It's an FZ-1 with the VP536A chip. It works but doesn't boot any games it seems in 240p mode, which I see others have had a problem with in the past. We used these instructions and wired the switch to pins 52 and 55: https://www.retrorgb.com/3do240p.html I see others have had this issue on this thread, but the solution I'm not sure about. Here's what it looks like:

    [​IMG]
    Does there have to be another wire from ground to pin 52? Unfortunately it seems the two people who did this pin lifting are MIA, and RetroRGB never updated the instructions. Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2019
  7. Greg2600

    Greg2600 Resolute Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    112
    [​IMG]

    Thanks to Taijigamer2 we figured it out. Removed the R166 resistor and now it boots and switches games, etc. in 240p mode!
     
    Taijigamer2 and Oakleaf like this.

Share This Page