3DO 240p output - VP536A encoder

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by airs, Feb 6, 2015.

  1. ASSEMbler

    ASSEMbler Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    19,394
    Likes Received:
    992
    Someone should make a how to guide / pdf
     
  2. citrus3000psi

    citrus3000psi Housekeeping, you want towel?

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,049
    Likes Received:
    414
    I can make one, I still need to do this to my 3do. I'll see if I can't get the mod done this Sunday.
     
  3. retrorgb

    retrorgb Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    38
    I keep planning on doing this to mine and making a guide. I'll see if I have time this week.
     
  4. retrorgb

    retrorgb Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    38
    I just finished the page: http://www.retrorgb.com/3do240p.html

    I'm really sorry it took so long...I've been meaning to do this since I first exchanged emails with Airs over a year ago! I tried to present the page in a way where people with basic soldering skills can perform the mod, but also contain all the technical information experts could use. Please let me know if there's anything else you suggest.

    Also, does anyone have a picture of their install with a switch that they'd let me use on the page (I'd give credit of course)? I didn't mount a physical switch on mine, since I'm about to do a few other mods on my console anyway and will include the switch in those mods.
     
    citrus3000psi likes this.
  5. MeteK

    MeteK Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    8
    Great discovery !!

    Thanks for the tip !

    Will it be possible to have it permanently without switch ?
     
  6. citrus3000psi

    citrus3000psi Housekeeping, you want towel?

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,049
    Likes Received:
    414
    IDK. I thought about probing around to see if I could detect when the 240p is "bad". I've also read that enemy's in wolf 3d move around at double speed with the 240p enabled. I still may try to fit an attiny in with some basic switching and then be able to manually turn off 240p if necessary.
     
  7. ASSEMbler

    ASSEMbler Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    19,394
    Likes Received:
    992
    Would you be agreeable to posting that here as well? That way the information has a mirror.
     
  8. retrorgb

    retrorgb Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    38
    Sure. Should I just post it right here, or would you prefer Airs update his first post with it? I'd think 1st post, but that's up to you (and Airs).
     
  9. airs

    airs Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    Sure - let me know what I should add to the first post.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2016
  10. lilralphie

    lilralphie Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    5
    Any thoughts on how to do this on
    a us fz-1 with a BT9101 chip? It's already rgb modded with otaku's kit. Thank you very much!
     
  11. MeteK

    MeteK Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    8
    I did the mod on my RGB FZ-10, and it's amazing !!!

    Thanks again for this !
     
  12. lilralphie

    lilralphie Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    5
    I contacted Otaku's store to see if they have any info on the BT9101 chip.
     
  13. superg

    superg Site Supporter 2013,2014,2015. Tape Drive Donor.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    345
    I doubt they have anything. Their solution is very similar to a guy with a nickname "acem77" who published everything open source so it's very likely they've just used his work and changed some components.
     
    lilralphie likes this.
  14. Friend of Sonic

    Friend of Sonic Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    3
    I wonder if my FZ-10 can do this. I have the late production run where the audio and video encoders were combined into the same chip, so probably not. :( I also couldn't do the RGB mod because of that
     
  15. lilralphie

    lilralphie Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    5
    You're right. Never heard back. I e-mailed Panasonic as well (low likelihood of success but can't hurt).

    Also - it looks like there may be someone that knows - apparently the author of freedo may have some info?
    http://forum.digitpress.com/forum/s...ures-included!&p=957555&viewfull=1#post957555
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2016
  16. airs

    airs Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thanks for looking into it lilralphie. Documentation on the BT9101 is quite the rabbit hole.
     
    lilralphie likes this.
  17. Arnold101

    Arnold101 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    i have a fz-1 modded but when i start in 240p mode the screen is all at right moved. why? the pins are correct like in the photo
     
  18. Arnold101

    Arnold101 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    please help me
     
  19. airs

    airs Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    You mean its shifted to the right? Off-centered image?
     
  20. Arnold101

    Arnold101 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    yes shifted to the right. i use a crt tv, only at 240p do this....why? i'm the only one?? i have a jap 3do fz-1
     

Share This Page