3DO 240p output - VP536A encoder

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by airs, Feb 6, 2015.

1. airs

airs Spirited Member

3DO 240p/480p output - VP536A encoder

I'm looking for a way to force 240p or 480p output for the 3DO. I have a Goldstar console with a VP536A. I've gone over the only technical document I could find for the chip (here) and I'm wondering if setting CTRLB1 high (pin 52) would have the desired effect. I don't have a ton of experience with circuits - it looks like pin 52 is pulled low so would I need to lift it off the board and connect it to a voltage source to set it high?

Table from the pdf linked above:

[​IMG]

Last edited: Feb 6, 2015
  2. breech

breech Member

I have no experience with that console but from the data posted CTRLB1 is internally low so you would need to apply the high level to the pin and probably lift it from the pcb too. If the B varient (which does both pal and ntsc) is pcb compatible you could also get the extra two pal modes by swapping the chip and using the other pin also.

3. airs

airs Spirited Member

I connected pin 55 (VAA) to pin 52 (CRTLB1) - success, 240p output. Motion is a lot clearer. S-video to XRGB Mini to 720p Plasma display (picture taken with iPhone):

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Feb 8, 2015
  4. retrorgb

retrorgb Spirited Member

What an awesome discovery! Unfortunately, my 3DO has the BT9101 chip, not the VP536A. It's RGB-modded, but since it outputs 480i, it doesn't look very good.

I can't find a datasheet on the BT9101 anywhere, but do you think it's possible to force 240p on that chip as well?

5. airs

airs Spirited Member