3D programming with Katana SDK without DevBox ???

Discussion in 'Sega Dreamcast Development and Research' started by Siggy12, Jun 9, 2019.

1. Siggy12

Siggy12 Member

Hello,
    I'm looking for to get in touch with some people that have experience in 3D Dreamcast Programming.
    I'm a novice about and I need help beacuse I'm curios about the potential of this machine and currently I'm studying the offical sdk R10 and unfortunately I don't have the development box, I started/able anyway to compile some of the provided katana sample and running it on emulator.
    Please don't reply saying using KOS because the official R10 is not legal (we are talking now about a 19 years old out of order system) and anyway anything that I'll do is purely for fun and not for commercial use and there is something more, I always want to learn the OFFICIAL Dreamcast SDK.
    Thank You for anyone that will reply and will help with their experience on the field about Katana Dreamcast Programming.

megavolt85 likes this.
  2. Shiva

Shiva Destiny Phantasy Star Online Developer

Hey there, i got some experience in modeling for sega games.
    But im only only using a few tools from the sdk R9. might be similar?
    Though im using 3D Studio Max 2.5 with segas converter. Not sure in what direction you want to go from there.

Siggy12 likes this.
  3. Siggy12

Siggy12 Member

Hello Shiva,
    Thank You for your reply,
    R10 are slightly different from R9 for example some class/call in Kamui library, in the documents Sega not recommend anyway to convert a project from R9 to R10 or at least from Kamui R9 to Kamui R10.