27C322 Adapters for Super NES SA1 and S-DD1 games

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by TheRealPhoenix, Nov 18, 2017.

  1. TheRealPhoenix

    TheRealPhoenix Spoken Language: French & English

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    81
    Hey everyone.

    Here's some adapter for Super NES SA1 games (Super Mario RPG, Marvelous...) and S-DD1 (Star Ocean)


    SA-1 Adapter: https://oshpark.com/shared_projects/s7cFgCKo
    [​IMG]


    SDD1 Adapter: https://oshpark.com/shared_projects/2eP6W07x
    [​IMG]

    The goal is to avoid to use 3.3V eeprom 29L3211. I understand that the 27C322 is huge, but I don't know any other 32Mbits "word-wide" eprom.

    Some exemple:
    [​IMG]
    Installation is straight forward like my adpater for Star Fox 2.

    Video:
     
  2. Pikmin

    Pikmin Resolute Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    95
    Thanks for that, is GQ4x compatible with the 27C322, and do I need an adapter?
     
  3. TheRealPhoenix

    TheRealPhoenix Spoken Language: French & English

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    81
    You need the adapter ADP-054
     
    Pikmin likes this.
  4. Pikmin

    Pikmin Resolute Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    95
    Thanks for that :)
     
  5. dc16

    dc16 Dauntless Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    20
    Does anybody know an affordable adapter to program a 27c322 on a TL866, though I probably will not need a lot of those chips anyway.
     
  6. GoodTofuFriday

    GoodTofuFriday Site Supporter 2015,2016,2017

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    198
    Can they not program these? I'm pretty sure they can without any adapter.
     
  7. TheRealPhoenix

    TheRealPhoenix Spoken Language: French & English

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    81
    GoodTofuFriday likes this.
  8. dc16

    dc16 Dauntless Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    20
    Dang, Surface Mount PCB. I should consider the $40 adapter but the cost benefit for me is not very good.
     
  9. Ice Man

    Ice Man Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 6 of those TL866 16-Bit Adapters left since I ordered them myself, if anyone needs those. (This isn't really an advertise to sell them but offering help).

    Also, while the adapter itself is pretty neat. Is there no other PCB Protoyping company that would produce them for cheaper costs? I find OSHPark quite expensive. :(
     
  10. TheRealPhoenix

    TheRealPhoenix Spoken Language: French & English

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    81
    yeah, it's 9$ for 3pcs.
    Cheap small batch PCBs 0.8mm thickness with castellated vias is going to be hard to find.
    The only I know which is doing castellated vias is Elecrow, and it's a bit more expensive for small batch (something like 5pcs for 20$ + shipp)
    I don't know for other place, but most of the time they charge additional cost for castellated vias.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2017
  11. takeshi385

    takeshi385 Mojarra Frita Bandit

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    166
    Will this work with dragonball hyper dimension?
     
    TheRealPhoenix likes this.
  12. Pikmin

    Pikmin Resolute Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    95
    Probably best for TheRealPhoenix to answer but I don't see why it wouldn't.
    The difference between the DBZ and other SA-1 games like Super Mario RPG for example is the absence of MM1026AF and the battery since DBZ doesn't use it. (Not really worrying about SRAM size here)
    Also the Mask ROM appears to be a little further away from the top edge so even better chance to fit nicely.
     
  13. TheRealPhoenix

    TheRealPhoenix Spoken Language: French & English

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    81
    That's an excellent remark.

    No it won't work. Actually none of those adapter will work for physical reason.

    Hyper Dimension maskrom is flipped out if you compare to Mario RPG and Marvelous.
    This is the PCB for Super Mario RPG. Check the orientation of the Maskrom:
    [​IMG]


    This is a Hyper Dimension PCB (and Super Bomber Man - Panic Bomber W):
    [​IMG]

    So SA-1 adapter is a no-no, but the SDD-1 adapter is close to fit, but C9 and C4 are in the way.
    I'll eventually rework it to make it compatible.
    And maybe rename them to avoid confusion.

    Thank you for bring me Hyper Dimension in mind.
     
    Pikmin and takeshi385 like this.
  14. takeshi385

    takeshi385 Mojarra Frita Bandit

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    166
    One idea would be to see you you can use the 5v flash that citrus3000psi uses for his starfox board.
     
  15. Pikmin

    Pikmin Resolute Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    95
    Thanks for the clarification, I was wrong again
     
  16. TheRealPhoenix

    TheRealPhoenix Spoken Language: French & English

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    81
    It won't work. Citrus3000psi adapter use a TSOP32 byte-wide EEPROM, and even a TSOP40 adapter (for 29F032/33) is also totaly doable (already seen those on other forum).

    But SA-1 and SDD1 are using word-wide EEPROMs.

    There is 2Mo (16MBits) TSOP48 chips compatible (the 29F016 as both TSOP40 and 48 packages), but in 4Mo (32MBit) the only one TSOP48 word-wide chip I know is the M27C320 (TSOP48, word-wide, 5V) which should be ok, but it's rare and freaking expensive (currently seeing an eBay sell at 15$ each). And bonus, those are one time programmable (so you fail = chip is going to the trash).

    Maybe with some NAND Flash memory it's possible, but I'm not familiar with flash memory, and I'm not sure people can easily program it.
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2017
    takeshi385 likes this.
  17. jaskamakkara

    jaskamakkara Tinkering in the dark

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    5
    Sorry, I know this is an old thread, but @TheRealPhoenix I made a Super Mario RPG repro using your SA-1 adapter last night. It works fine, and I'm grateful for your good work, but it did require me to remove one of the PCB supports from the back of the case to allow the EPROM and adapter to fit. It was close but I just couldn't squeeze it in without modifications. This was a little bit of a shame, IMO, do you have this problem also? Could we design a new adapter that is shifted over slightly to avoid this problem?

    Let me know what you think.
     
  18. Pikmin

    Pikmin Resolute Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    95
    I had to shave a bit off one of the plastic clips to get Star Ocean to fit, this was my fault as I didn’t trim the chip legs on the surface mount side. It was a very tight fit even after doing it right but now hard to say if the modification was needed.
    In any case very grateful for the adapter, so thanks again :)
     
  19. TheRealPhoenix

    TheRealPhoenix Spoken Language: French & English

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    81
    That's weird. I know Star Ocean fits tight (on the top of the cart), but there should be enought room on SA-1 games since I've already move a bit the adapter on the left after the first prototype I used in the video to avoid those kind of modification.
    Was it a US cart or a PAL/Japanese one?
     
  20. jaskamakkara

    jaskamakkara Tinkering in the dark

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yeah I also made a Star Ocean repro and I had to shave a small amount of the inside of the top of the case to get it to fit - I understand that this is unavoidable though.

    For the SMRPG repro, it really was tight - I think if the adapter was even half a mm over to the left then it would have fit no problem. It was an NTSC-J cartridge FYI. It's possible that the EPROM was clashing and not the adapter, and I may for future mods be able to push the EPROM over slightly since there is a small amount of tolerance in it's location on the adapter, I'll investigate this.

    I'll take some pictures of it tonight and put them here.
     

Share This Page