1CHIP SNES SuperCIC and mod help

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by keropi, Aug 14, 2012.

  1. matt5cott

    matt5cott Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Bad_Ad84, I've installed this on my PAL system, it looked to be working OK as I had a good 1 hour game on Zelda in 60hz, it's only now I realise it's not switching to PAL mode if needed, I've checked my soldering and it looks OK, but it just plain refuses to switch to 50hz (even if I put a PAL game in it says not for your region) Any ideas please?

    Gredde, if you're still having issues, from your picture it looks like you've soldered to S-CPU 110 not S-CPU 111, but it could just be the pic.
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2016
  2. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,604
    Likes Received:
    1,375
    Not without pics, no.

    The board is confirmed working on many installs.

    What type of console is it installed in? 1chip?

    How are you trying to change video mode? Reset button or the controller button combo? What's the led doing?
     
  3. matt5cott

    matt5cott Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    FFS, it was set to forced 60hz, used the pad combo with uIGR to set it to auto and we're cooking now :)

    Thanks Bad_Ad84:cool:
     
  4. Gredde

    Gredde Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still having issue with no picture, but have sound.
    Soldered the LED today and it was green when power was turned on. I used the L+R+select+B and it turned off and nothing happened as far as I can tell since there is no visual.

    Sidenote: I can access the L+R+select+start reset option.

    Any help with the no picture would be great. Pics of the wiring can be seen on my previous post. Thanks!
     
  5. AndehX

    AndehX You got boost power!

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    68
    Definitely double check that pin on S-CPU. I lifted the wrong pin when I did mine and got no picture. So I would start by checking that.
     
  6. Gredde

    Gredde Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I triple checked that - I counted backward and forward from the end of the scpu chip at 120 and it is soldered to 111.
     
  7. matt5cott

    matt5cott Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    [​IMG]

    :confused: or is it just the pic?
     
    AndehX likes this.
  8. AndehX

    AndehX You got boost power!

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    68
    definitely looks like you soldered to the wrong pin there
     
  9. matt5cott

    matt5cott Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is there an alternate ground I can solder to rather than the GND pad on the Bad_Ad84 board?
     
  10. AndehX

    AndehX You got boost power!

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    68
    whats wrong with the GND pad?
     
  11. matt5cott

    matt5cott Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've done 4 now absolutely fine, but one is sitting waiting as the GND pad came off :(
     
  12. AndehX

    AndehX You got boost power!

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    68
    why not just scrape away some solder mask and solder to that? or solder to the GND side of a capacitor? You could even look up the pinout for one of the chips, find which leg is GND, and solder to that
     
  13. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,604
    Likes Received:
    1,375
    If its the ground pad on the pcb, you can just solder to the led ground or one of the chips ground legs.
     

    Attached Files:

    matt5cott and AndehX like this.
  14. matt5cott

    matt5cott Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Bad_Ad84, still having a bit of trouble with this one, it sort of works fine, it switches region (sony PVM so displays when you do) OK but check out the graphics! (Sound is fine)

    As you can see, everything is a block, I've been over checking wiring under a jewellers loupe, soldered-resoldered, tried alternative points and still the same, have you seen this before?

    Any advice appreciated, thanks :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • rgb.jpg
      rgb.jpg
      File size:
      406.6 KB
      Views:
      302
  15. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,604
    Likes Received:
    1,375
    Supercic has no effect on the graphics.

    Only way supercic can cause something like that is a bad install. Are you connecting the cic points to the underside of the cart slot? Are you sure they are the correct points? Any shorts? Etc

    Pics of install would help

    But problems like this is usually cart slot issue
     
  16. Gredde

    Gredde Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I checked again, used a magnified lens, and counted several times. It looks like it is on 111. I took another pic with tape off.

    Any other ideas as to no video?
     

    Attached Files:

  17. AndehX

    AndehX You got boost power!

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    68
    Yeah that looks like you have the right pin.
     
  18. borti4938

    borti4938 Robust Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    64
    Where are you from, @Gredde ?
    Maybe there is someone within your country, who is experienced with this mod and can take a deeper look on your SNES! I would do that; I'm from Germany.

    - BR
     
  19. Gredde

    Gredde Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    @borti4938, I'm in the States. I'll try having someone put eyes on it here.
     
  20. matt5cott

    matt5cott Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Has anyone come across the pad codes for switching regions being a bit hit and miss before? Some consoles I've done work without a hitch, a couple (despite going to exactly the same points, and I've tried re-soldering pad 2/3/4 numerous times either end) seem to struggle and need the buttons mashing several times before switching, sometimes just plain refusing to. In all cases the reset switch method works fine and the L+R+SEL+X method to quit out is fine also.

    I'm wiring it the same as per a previous post here, [​IMG]
     

Share This Page