1CHIP SNES SuperCIC and mod help

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by keropi, Aug 14, 2012.

  1. keropi

    keropi Familiar Face

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    70
    nice work kel! thanks for the diagram too, it will be handy :)
     
  2. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,613
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    What software did you use for that diagram? (I assume you didnt do it by hand in paint!)
     
  3. kel

    kel Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    4
  4. ragimaz

    ragimaz Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't know if this is the right place to ask, but: Is there anyone who would consider helping me with doing this mod for my 1CHIP SNES? Got absolutely no soldering skills, and I'd rather not even try, as I would most likely just mess it up... I would of course pay for the shipping back and forth, as well as for the service itself.
     
  5. keropi

    keropi Familiar Face

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    70
    ragimaz, Bad_Ad84 does that sort of things, in fact the pics he posted was from a mod he did for someone else IIRC... drop him a PM :)
     
  6. ragimaz

    ragimaz Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool! Will do!
     
  7. never1991

    never1991 Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dear all,

    I finished my snes following all these information of the post, but not works..:(

    So, I have some questions about the Kel's mod:

    - Are you not use a 10k resistor between CIC 8 and GND?
    - For R1 and R2 you’re using 1KOhm value, Is it correct or should be 1MOhm?
    - For keypad connection port pins 2,3 and 4, are connected direclty to the white conector of mainboard? Are these feature working for the pad 2 only?
    - For PIN 12 of SUPERCIC is connected to PIN 4 of IGR, that’s correct?
    - For PIN 13 of SUPERCIC is connected to PIN 2 of IGR and CIC 8, that’s correct?
    - For PIN 8 of IGR, is connected directly to +5V or PIN 12 of SUPERCIC?

    Thanks in advance for your help!! I hope fix my snes 1 chip mod asap!!
     
  8. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,613
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    You need a 10k resistor between 8 and ground
    R1 and R2 should be 1M ohm
    2, 3 and 4 are for pad 1, it only works from pad 1.
    Pin 12 of supercic goes to pin 4 of IGR
    pin 13 goes to both. But if you have pin 13 connected to cic8 and then pin 2 of IGR going to cic 8 or pin13 - you have both connections
    pin 8 of IGR is connected to +5 not pin 12

    Think that covers it all
     
  9. never1991

    never1991 Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Many thanks Bad_Ad84!
    For the keypad connections, in the German redscorpion & thix diagram, you can see the image from a key pad port 2, not pad port 1.

    I’ve attached a image with the diferences between both ports,
    In these case, Can you confirm me the pinout for pad port 1 related with this image?

    SNESPADS.jpg

    Many thanks!!
     
  10. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,613
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    pad 1 is 7 6 5 4 3 2 1


    The instructions are just showing you the pinout of the connector.
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2012
  11. kel

    kel Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    4
    I didn't use a 10k resistor between CIC 8 and GND because I left the original CIC on the board and lifted Pin 1,2,10 and 11.

    You're right R1 and R2 are 1M ohm, thanks for pointing that out. I've now corrected the mistake on the original stripboard picture.

    If you are connecting the IGR to the white FCC connector on the main board then bear in mind that it is numbered differently from the actual controller port pins which the diagram refers to.
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2012
  12. never1991

    never1991 Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    CONGRATULATIONS!!! Now it's working!
    Many thanks to Bad_ad84 and kel. My SNES 1 chip is live again and with a super mod ;)
    But I have a litle doubt, sometimes the buttons combinations of IGR in the keypad not works correctly. I press L+R+Select and start or A or B or Y button all together but sometimes works and for a next combination not works. It's like a intermitent malfuntion, is it posible?

    Anyway, thank you very much to all for your help!!!
     
  13. mmz16x

    mmz16x Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    3
    i cant find a 21.477Mhz or 17.734Mhz OSC can i use something faster then this or slower? and is 5 Volt based OSC to much?
     
  14. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,613
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    no, you cant. its used for timing
     
  15. mmz16x

    mmz16x Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    3
    found the correct clocked oscillators on ebay but for a "lot" amount so i have plenty extra :) if this works well on the first go imma make a few of these might as well put the extra parts to use and if anyone wants pre'made boards i will sell them after lots of testing of course :D

    Edit: these will be for 1-Chip SNES mini/Jr's mind you unsure if they will work on 1-Chip SNES's as i only have dual PPU SNES's no 1-Chip models
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2013
  16. ShadowZero

    ShadowZero Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    9
    Did anyone answer this? (or did I miss it?)
     
  17. Bad_Ad84

    Bad_Ad84 The Tick

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    8,613
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Yes optional, yes PAL60 if you dont.
     
  18. ikari_01

    ikari_01 Rising Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    More like PAL-M actually (60Hz, 3.58MHz chroma subcarrier, yet with PAL encoding)
     
  19. ShadowZero

    ShadowZero Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    9
    I'm curious, where did you find that switchless5060v2.png circuit diagram?
    I'm still trying to understand the S-RGB pin 9 deal.
    Connected = PAL60 (PAL-M)
    Lifted = (true) NTSC

    If it's lifted, should be connected to GND or something?
    Someone suggested if it's connected and in PAL60 mode, composite and s-video connections won't have color. Is that true? (or depends on the tv?)
     
  20. keropi

    keropi Familiar Face

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    70
    I don't remember where I got it, it is said in previous posts that is more correct since there are no floating pins on the ICs...
     

Share This Page