1. 2017 FUNDRAISER

    2017 brings with it a new server for the site. Any donations to support the ongoing costs of keeping this running will be greatly received. See this thread for more information.

What's currently the best RGB mod for the PC Engine?

Discussion in 'Modding and Hacking - Consoles and Electronics' started by FireAza, Apr 17, 2013.

  1. Segata Sanshiro

    Segata Sanshiro speedlolita

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,278
    Likes Received:
    8
    Is there any reason to use a thicker gauge of wire on the RGB lines than lunar?
     
  2. Ergot_Cholera

    Ergot_Cholera Passionate about apathy.

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    26
    After reading up a bit more on the jailbars issue I am going to try the fix I have read about. 22uf ceramic caps from c6260 pins 41 and 43 to ground. Has anyone tried this with a good result?
     
  3. M54B25

    M54B25 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    7
    May I use 3.9M or 3.3M ohm resistor instead of 3.6M (pull up resistor)? I can't find that value in local shops, they have only 3.3 or 3.9.
    Another issue - 220uF instead of 330uF? I have 330uF but they are little to big for this PCB, 220uF are perfectly fit.
     
  4. voultar

    voultar Rising Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    35
    I used 3.3Mohm resistors for the color pull-ups, and I terminated the color outputs with 220uF capacitors with 75ohm resistors in-series.


    BIAS & DECOUP.jpg

    6px0rn.jpg

    This is an excellent circuit!
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2014
  5. M54B25

    M54B25 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thanks!
    Here is my PCB:
    2014-11-17 13.08.03.jpg
     
  6. Segata Sanshiro

    Segata Sanshiro speedlolita

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,278
    Likes Received:
    8
    I got the kit with the 8 pin DIN and SCART lead. Amazing value.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  7. voultar

    voultar Rising Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    35
    It's a great circuit. I'm such a cheap bastard I hand assembled mine.
     
  8. M54B25

    M54B25 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    7
    PC Engine RGB mod done, now need RGB scart cable.
    What is the best way to make that cable with 8 pin mini din connector?
     
  9. Ergot_Cholera

    Ergot_Cholera Passionate about apathy.

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    26
    It isn't a mini din, it's just a normal size 8 pin din connector.
     
  10. mickcris

    mickcris Site Supporter 2014,2015

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    21
    I think most people use a mini din 9 because the 8 is the same connector as the controller. If you use a 9 pin mini din, you can also use a genesis/megadrive 2 scart cable after removing the caps/resistors in the scart plug (if there are any) and if you pinned the mini din to match the genesis pinout.

    If you still want to use the 8 pin mini din, and are in the USA, Monoprice has cheap mini din 8 cables. Just cut off one end and attach a scart plug:
    male/male for $1.50
    http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=102&cp_id=10215&cs_id=1021501&p_id=522&seq=1&format=2
    male/female for $1.90 (cheap controller extension cables)
    http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=102&cp_id=10215&cs_id=1021501&p_id=534&seq=1&format=2
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2014
  11. M54B25

    M54B25 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    7
    I bought 20 pieces of 8 pin mini din for 2$ and 3 connectors for 5$. I couldn't find 9 pin in my local shops, so I need to use 8 pin.
    I have Megadrive scart cable, but want to make another to separate cables between systems and boxes.
    I need only good schematic to make cable.
     
  12. mickcris

    mickcris Site Supporter 2014,2015

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    21
  13. Ergot_Cholera

    Ergot_Cholera Passionate about apathy.

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    26
    Sorry, my mistake. I was looking at the pictures of the Duo's above. It is a mini din for an original PC Engine. You can wire it any way you like.
    Here is a method
    http://www.mmmonkey.co.uk/pc-engine-rgb-mod/
     
  14. phipscube

    phipscube Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    I started off with mmmonkeys mod but found it was pretty poor quality, especially with banding on the screen. I ended up mixing a few ideas and made a custom board based off the IC mod and also incorporated sync and audio. the board fits over where the old RF unit was. I put two long screws through the solder posts that held the RF unit shielding, then mounted my board upside down. I used a mini DIN compatible with the Megadrive 2 SCART lead and matched its pinout on my board. And with my PC Engine being the original white model it now has a rock solid RGB output with no banding in the slightest (something that can still appear faintly on Core and Duo models). Here are some pics of my mod: -

    [​IMG]

    This is the board



    [​IMG]

    Mounting it in my PC Engine. I made a small connector to the underside wires so its easy to remove if need be.


    [​IMG]


    All in and held by the two screws.


    [​IMG]

    Its a tight squeeze but it all fits. I added a small piece of insulation tape over the Osc later on to avoid shorts.


    [​IMG]

    The small switch is connected to my internal Region switch chip (the Obey chip from PCEFX) so I can select JP or US

    More details on my G+ album https://plus.google.com/photos/106929866019169011552/albums/5774218923186781089
     
  15. FireAza

    FireAza Shake! Shake!

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Messages:
    2,003
    Likes Received:
    25
    Very nice! The connector doesn't move around when you plug in the cable does it?
     
  16. phipscube

    phipscube Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    No its very solid. The board is held by 2 screws I put into the old solder holes that the RF unit used. I had an earlier more simple mod that had the connector hot glued, but it broke off, so this was like a version 2 :)
     
  17. Segata Sanshiro

    Segata Sanshiro speedlolita

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,278
    Likes Received:
    8
    Made the amp according to original spec, though I changed the 75Ohm resistors for 100Ohms as per the broken amplifier in my Duo R and N64.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    This was installed in my SNES Mini and RGB was tapped directly from the chip.

    [​IMG]

    I also took a dremel to the tabs in the cart slot and converted the power jack to a more standard one.

    http://i.imgur.com/v1dTOvi.jpg | http://i.imgur.com/eKo8H8s.jpg

    As usual, it is looking great with an official GC SCART lead into my Trinitron.

    [​IMG]

    Love this amp. :)
     
  18. M54B25

    M54B25 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    7
    I just recived PCE controller and F1 game, so I checked my modded console ;)
    My 32" LCD shows beautiful image but moved to the left side. Why? Try to check on CRT TV?
    Also I have bad audio and hear some buzzy noise.
    I made SCART cable using Sega Saturn diagram from mmmonkey.
    Bad shielding or what?
    Here is video:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FqbnTc1XBC4&feature=youtu.be
    EDIT:
    How it looks now on 52" LCD:
    [​IMG]
    Problem with sound is solved. I forgot connect shield in SCART plug.
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2015
  19. Goemon

    Goemon Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    9
  20. M54B25

    M54B25 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    7
    I think You can use it, but that caps are bigger then smd. There are only differences in shape and size.
     

Share This Page