Universalizing a Megasis

Discussion in 'General Gaming' started by GodofHardcore, Jan 18, 2012.

  1. GodofHardcore

    GodofHardcore Conservator of Knowledge

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    9,838
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Possibly mexico or the Forest of New England... I
    I'm considering completing the set that is getting a Mega Drive or Genesis/Mega CD/32x/Powerbase converter and thus having all the Sega Consoles

    So my question is what exactly do I have to do to be able to play EVERYTHING besides getting a Japanese system and American System?
     
  2. la-li-lu-le-lo

    la-li-lu-le-lo ラリルレロ

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,134
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    US
    There are some older Sega consoles too, like the Mark III.
     
  3. Lum

    Lum Site Soldier

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,947
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    USA
    I believe Darxide is the sole unique 32X game not released in the states, which is also region locked to not have a version normally playable on an American model.

    AFAIK Fifa 96 and Sangokushi IV don't block a US 32X. (but they're pointless except to collectors since their superior US Saturn cousins can be found under $10 complete)

    No Euro 32X CD games are exclusive, while Japan never saw that format.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2012
  4. GodofHardcore

    GodofHardcore Conservator of Knowledge

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    9,838
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Possibly mexico or the Forest of New England... I
    isn't the Mark III just a master system?
     
  5. 7Force

    7Force Saturn > PS1+N64

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    4,340
    Likes Received:
    23
    I think you're forgetting about the SG-1000 and SC-3000 too...and do you have a Pico? :p
     
  6. Lum

    Lum Site Soldier

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,947
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    USA
    More or less. I think you need a Japanese system to play SG-1000 games out of the box.
     
  7. GodofHardcore

    GodofHardcore Conservator of Knowledge

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    9,838
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Possibly mexico or the Forest of New England... I
    DO I NEED A PICO is a better question.

    I'm pretty sure those other 2 were just early versions of the Master System
     
  8. 7Force

    7Force Saturn > PS1+N64

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    4,340
    Likes Received:
    23
    Do you want to have all Sega consoles like you said? There's your answer.

    Well...no, they're not. It's a completely different system.
     
  9. l_oliveira

    l_oliveira Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,343
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Brazil
    The Mark-III full name is:

    SG-1000 MARK-III...

    They're 100% compatible and each newer unit adds a bit of functions to the older. Only gripe is that non Japanese units have a BIOS which prevent them from booting SG-1000 software.

    Take that out, add an cartridge adapter and you can play anything on your Master System. :thumbsup:
     
  10. GodofHardcore

    GodofHardcore Conservator of Knowledge

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    9,838
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Possibly mexico or the Forest of New England... I
    I regret throwing my Master system out now

    TO THE LAND FILL

    Ok so how about turning a Mega Drive/Genesis into a Megasis?
     
  11. pato

    pato Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Brazil.
    ever thought in buying a converter cart like megakey?
     
  12. GodofHardcore

    GodofHardcore Conservator of Knowledge

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    9,838
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Possibly mexico or the Forest of New England... I
    Mega Key?
     
  13. WolverineDK

    WolverineDK music lover

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,616
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Denmark
  14. GodofHardcore

    GodofHardcore Conservator of Knowledge

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    9,838
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Possibly mexico or the Forest of New England... I
    How about Mega Drive-Genesis same way?

    I always hated the name Genesis
     
  15. WolverineDK

    WolverineDK music lover

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,616
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Denmark
    What ever, you started the thread. But seriously though, what about a universal bios for the console ?
     
  16. la-li-lu-le-lo

    la-li-lu-le-lo ラリルレロ

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,134
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    US
    I think I read that that doesn't work with some games.

    I kinda want to get a Japanese (or Asian) Mega Drive, because my Wondermega doesn't output RGB.
     
  17. WolverineDK

    WolverineDK music lover

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,616
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Denmark
    What about modifying a megadrive (PAL) with a switch where you can change between US/JP NTSC then ? Or find a Hong Kong version ? Sorry if it sounds redundant. But There must be a solution to the problem in some ways.
     
  18. la-li-lu-le-lo

    la-li-lu-le-lo ラリルレロ

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,134
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    US
    Well, for one thing I'm in the US, so if anything I would modify my Genesis. But I'm not good at soldering small traces, and anyway I like my hardware to be unmodified (with a few exceptions). I also like to collect Japanese consoles.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2012
  19. WolverineDK

    WolverineDK music lover

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,616
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Denmark
    Good luck then. Cause it seems to me, you need to buy a Japanese console then.
     
  20. GodofHardcore

    GodofHardcore Conservator of Knowledge

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    9,838
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Possibly mexico or the Forest of New England... I
    Well lets say I get a Japanese system and want to play American games on it as well as Japanese games.

    Goes both ways The idea of getting an NTSC Mega Drive just crossed my mind a few hours ago.

    Probably a Model 1 Mega Drive and Mega CD If I went this route
     

Share This Page