SECURITY NOTICE: Please read the security notice in the site help forum immediately.

Strange XRGB-Mini Sound Issue - Help!

Discussion in 'General Gaming' started by mikespit1, Jan 11, 2017 at 12:39 PM.

  1. mikespit1

    mikespit1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi all,
    I've asked all over retro forums but haven't been able to find an answer so I'm hoping someone can help solve my issue.

    I have all my retro consoles (NES, SNES, Duo-R, Genesis) running over SCART to a Banbridge switch into a Framemeister then into my Vizio M series TV's high bandwidth low latency input. This setup worked perfectly for months. I decided to try out some 4k gaming on my PC so I needed that specific input. I disconnected the Framemeister for a few weeks to mess with the PC settings. I did use a DVI cable to pump video and audio directly into the TV's input (this may be the source of my issue). Any rate I went to switch back the retro gaming setup from the framemeister into the low lag input. The picture displays perfectly, but there's no sound. If I switch the FM to another, any input on the TV, works perfectly, albeit with a noticeable amount of lag. Now, I've tested every component in my setup and they all seem to work fine, it's just that for whatever reason, the Framemeister can't send audio to the TV's low lag input. I've tested other consoles on the low lag input, they work fine, sound works no problem. I checked all the audio settings on the FM. I even contacted Vizio and they said it sounds like a 60hz sync issue which sounds reasonable. I messed around a bit with the FM's sync settings but that didn't work. My current idea is a workaround. Essentially, I'll get a M-M Euro Scart cable with audio breakout so I can send the video to the FM and the audio directly into my speakers. If there's an issue I'm overlooking with this setup please let me know. I'd love to be able to get my current setup working again so if anyone has any insight into this issue I would be extremely grateful. Thanks in advance.

    tldr; No sound coming on TV's low lag input when connected to Framemeister.
     
  2. lwizardl

    lwizardl Living The Dream

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    50
    if I read that correct you was using a dvi cable and if so dvi doesn't carry audio only video
     
  3. mikespit1

    mikespit1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    To be clear it was a HDMI cable with a DVI adapter on the end. It did carry audio when I was using it for the pc. I am now only using the HDMI cable. I've tried other HDMI cables too.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2017 at 2:08 PM
  4. Yakumo

    Yakumo Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    20,491
    Likes Received:
    572
    It's an issue with the TV by the sounds of it. I read another article similar to this one about a user using a Framemeister on a 4K Vizio display. That user had the exact same issue. It's something to do with the audio signal not being the correct standard. Or at least I remember that being the conclusion.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2017 at 6:04 PM
  5. mikespit1

    mikespit1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks, if you could dig up the link that would be awesome. But yeah, from all the testing it seems like it's just that the TV can't understand the framemeister's audio. At any rate I ordered a SCART cable with audio breakout so I'm assuming that will do the trick.
     
  6. AtomizerZero

    AtomizerZero Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    90
    Have you tried turning the TV off at the wall for a little while? Might not do anything but it's magically fixed something for me once. Won't hurt to try either way.
     
  7. skyway1985

    skyway1985 Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    116
    you could just get 3.5mm to rca cable and plug it into the headphone jack of the xrgb... that way all the consoles you have won't need a breakout audio scart.(EDIT) just realized the mini doesn't have a headphone jack. WTF lol
     
  8. AtomizerZero

    AtomizerZero Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    90
    Thats my number 1 issue with framemeister. No audio out. I assume it's because it's output is hdmi so, it'd need a dac of sorts I guess.
     
  9. skyway1985

    skyway1985 Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    116
    Ahh you could get an hdmi audio stripper!
     
  10. AtomizerZero

    AtomizerZero Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    90
    That's kind of what I did. Got a Hdmi passthrough with audio out, scart in and hdmi in. Pretty nice actually.
     
    skyway1985 likes this.
  11. vanadium

    vanadium Robust Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    9
    I wonder what model that particular Vizio is, because I have a Vizio 4K M60-C3 from 2015 and the Framemeister works swimmingly with it.
     
  12. mikespit1

    mikespit1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Mine is a M55-C2. The strange thing is the framemeister worked perfectly for months. If I were you I wouldn't mess around with it.
     
  13. vanadium

    vanadium Robust Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    9
    I've had mine for about a year now, switching between systems in D-Terminal, SCART, and S-Video/RCA depending on the system. I wonder if there was a change between the C2 and C3 levels; I do remember looking at the 55" at the time, and the specs were somewhat different. One would imagine the components might also be.

    My setup is Framemeister => Yamaha 5.1 A/V Unit via HDMI => Vizio M60-C3 via HDMI so my audio isn't even used via the television for all intents and purposes, but when I've had the volume on from the TV, I haven't heard anything particularly weird. Will keep an eye out nonetheless.
     
  14. mikespit1

    mikespit1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    I thought about getting a receiver but I don't have the funds/space for it. Good to know that the issue seems isolated to just the TV though.
     
  15. AtomizerZero

    AtomizerZero Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    90
    I just had a thought. Check to make sure the framemeister isn't muted!

    EDIT: oh yeh, you tried it on another port and it worked... doh!
     
  16. mikespit1

    mikespit1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah, I've gone nuts testing. Unplugged the tv, reset everything to factory, etc.
     
  17. AtomizerZero

    AtomizerZero Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    90
    Could you do us a favour. Either type out or take a picture of what it says on "Full Status" on the "Status" option on the framemeister?
     
  18. mikespit1

    mikespit1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah, I'll do that a little later. I will tell you the audio displays at 48khz or something.
     
  19. AtomizerZero

    AtomizerZero Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    90
    Alright. Something else you could try is setting the output to dvi mode. See if you get audio that way.
     
  20. mikespit1

    mikespit1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah tried that. But when II set to DVI I get no output at all.
     

Share This Page