Setting up MC freeboot on PS2 Test?

Discussion in 'Sony Programming and Development' started by itsmattxp, Jul 28, 2011.

  1. itsmattxp

    itsmattxp Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a PS2 test that I've been using for the better half of a year and think its time I switched to MC freeboot to save the lazer. I've been using HDadvance but some of the compatibility issues such as GoW 2 have caused me to want to start using MC freeboot to boot up the most current version of HDloader. I've been trying to get something that would let me boot the .ELF to install FCMB onto a memory card but I can never either patch the ISO or Bin/Cue so that the disc is read on the system and launching the ELF from HDadvance doesn't work. Maybe its because I've been burning the CD iso to a DVD disc? Any help would be appreciated, thanks!
     
  2. Segata Sanshiro

    Segata Sanshiro speedlolita

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,269
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    United Kingdom
  3. itsmattxp

    itsmattxp Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks so much. I'm still having some problems though. I downloaded unclejun's patched CD iso and burned it. The cd boots up but then reverts me to the PS2 screen with the memory cards and CDs. Is it because I burned it to a DVD or is something else the matter?
     
  4. Segata Sanshiro

    Segata Sanshiro speedlolita

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,269
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Might be. Do you have a CD-R handy? Mine is on a CD-R. :)

    Make sure you use the right one for your region too.
     
  5. l_oliveira

    l_oliveira Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,363
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Brazil
    Free MC Boot on a DTLH unit ? Won't happen.

    Why ? DEVKITS cannot decrypt RETAIL kelfs. :shrug:
     
  6. SilverBull

    SilverBull <B>Site Supporter 2011</B><BR><B>Site Supporter 20

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Germany
    Depends on the model number. DTL-Hxx1xx units should be able to, but unfortunately not the more common xx0xx ones. But even with the former, you'd still need to supply your own DVD ELF, as the TEST machines do not have one in ROM.
     
  7. l_oliveira

    l_oliveira Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,363
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Brazil
    You sure about that ? (I'm referring to the binding mechanism, since I'm almost sure that Debugstations with Magic Gate encryption enabled are intended to use the DTLH-10020 card as boot device instead of the standard SCPH-10020). If I had that stuff here I would SURELY test this out ... :lol:

    I had the impression that the DTLH-10020 (Boot memory card for TEST consoles and also used as System 246 security dongle) was using different MG keys than that of a retail.

    Also the kelf files on these devices can be using different keys, no ?
     
  8. SilverBull

    SilverBull <B>Site Supporter 2011</B><BR><B>Site Supporter 20

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Germany
    Unfortunately, no. But I am certain that I read a message from unclejun some time ago stating that the xx1xx models can successfully execute a retail HDD utility disc. Which would mean the consoles could read retail KELFs and bind them to memory cards, wouldn't it?

    The DTL-H10020 is a different story, and I know basically nothing about it (aside from what is being written in the user manual). I don't own such a card, neither an xx1xx TEST unit :shrug:.

    Are the System 246 dongles really labelled DTL-H10020, or do they just use the same board? If it is the same board and maybe even the same labelling on the microcontroller, they could still use different firmware. The card-specific encrypted keys should be stored in the microcontroller, and I'd assume (but that's just another wild guess) that these are programmed after assembling the board, meaning that whatever is written on either the board or card does not necessarily resemble which firmware or key set it uses.

    That is indeed possible. We know that at least for the files on the System 246 dongle, as (please correct me if I'm wrong here) its file header signature cannot be verified with the retail keys; something that should be possible even for a bound KELF if they were using the same key set.
     
  9. itsmattxp

    itsmattxp Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    My PS2 Test happens to be model DTL-H30101 so it should work right? I put the patched iso of the uLElauncher into my HDD and booted it up with a mastered copy of HDadvance. I then accessed my usb drive and opened the FBMC installer which then prompted me to add a DVDELF.BIN file so I did. Now I'm stuck at decrypting DVDELF. Any help?
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2011
  10. PS2Guy

    PS2Guy Lost in the abyss.

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Napier, New Zealand
    Is it the right DVDELF.BIN for your region TEST?? If it's not then it will most likely hang. It's happened to me a couple of times.
     
  11. Segata Sanshiro

    Segata Sanshiro speedlolita

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,269
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Oh, so you can actually use freemcboot with a debug?
     
  12. l_oliveira

    l_oliveira Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,363
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Brazil

    This post proves I was right after all.

    So it seems like no, you can't run FMCB on TEST consoles.

    It won't boot RETAIL kelfs which are bound to retail memory cards after all.

    It boot DISC type KELFs or perhaps it's made to only boot the ones made for the HDD ...

    It was a guess of mine, considering the silly block for making TEST PS2s not work with retail DVD player updates... perhaps the reason TEST PS2s can't use retail KELFs is block them from using the DVD Player and prevent these units from being used to decrypt the retail MC-BOUND KELFs...

    Edit:DTL-Hx010x TEST units don't have region restrictions on DISC KELF booting AFAIK. It probably don't have restrictions on booting bound KELFs too but I suppose it will require them to be on a DTL-H10020 card.

    SB: Yes, System 246 dongles are actually labeled as "DTL-H10020".
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2011
  13. unclejun

    unclejun <B>Site Supporter 2011</B><BR><B>Site Supporter 20

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,799
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Paris, France
    System246 dongles are labelled "COH-H10020".
     
  14. l_oliveira

    l_oliveira Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,363
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Brazil

    I stand corrected here. Shame on me ... :shrug:

    [​IMG]

    Sorry. :pray: I had to open my system and check. I wish I did before I said what I did ... lol
     
  15. pc_91

    pc_91 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    In case you can boot of the MC give it a try to Open PS2 Loader, worked flawlessly even with isos from USB, it was able to run NFS UG 2 that HDloader can't, in case FreeMC wont work make a disc with uLaunchElf, really useful tool.
     
  16. l_oliveira

    l_oliveira Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,363
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Brazil
    Uh, just make an master disc with Open PS2 Loader ELF file....

    Not hard...


    Not hard at all...
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2011
  17. itsmattxp

    itsmattxp Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well now that I know I can't get FMCB on my test is there any link to a patched version of HDloader 0.8? I get the bin/cue on SKSapps but I'm unable to patch it. Is there any work around to that?
     
  18. l_oliveira

    l_oliveira Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,363
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Brazil
    You have CDVDGEN ? It's part of the PS2SDK. Just build a disc project with the uLE ELF as launch file. :shrug:
     
  19. itsmattxp

    itsmattxp Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    No I don't have it. I have CDgenPS2 but would like to make a DVD iso and not a CD iso. The CDDVDgen I got off SKSapps say I'm missing a file to use it so I'm having a hard time making a DVD iso since I only have DVD discs available.
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2011
  20. l_oliveira

    l_oliveira Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,363
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Brazil
    You can use the pirate one CDgenPS2 to make your iso too, but then you need Loser's MASTER DISC PATCHER for it to work on your TEST console. :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page