SECURITY NOTICE: Please read the security notice in the site help forum immediately.

[PS2] POPS stuff...

Discussion in 'Sony Programming and Development' started by krHACKen, Apr 10, 2013.

  1. krHACKen

    krHACKen Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    223
    [PS2] POPS stuff & POPStarter...

    A topic dedicated to $ony's PS1 emulator for PS2 (known as "POPS" and "SLBB-00001") and to POPStarter (a homebrew launcher which is meant for it).

    You may find POPStarter releases and tech support here...

    Please keep this place free of illegal things. Example of files that can NOT be posted :
    - Retail game dumps (and retail game files)
    - PS1/PS2 System BIOS (or "boot ROM")
    - POPStarter Revision 9, 10, 11 and 12 files (they all contain the POPS binaries, that are $ONY COPYRIGHTED)
    - POPS launcher POC2 (which was released under the name "POPS-00001", POPS is also embedded in that thing)
    - POPS decrypted files (POPS.ELF, POPS.PAK, POPS_IOX.PAK and IOPRP252.IMG)


    The official POPStarter 13 package doesn't contain anything that belong to $ony. It's 100% free of $ony code and can be reposted anywere.
    Please do not post direct links to the POPS binaries (POPS.ELF, POPS.PAK, POPS_IOX.PAK and IOPRP252.IMG) in this thread.


    UPDATES :

    CUE2POPS :
    CUE2POPS_v2.0.zip
    CUE2POPS v2.0 GUI (made by ryanzeus31)
    CUE2POPS v2.3 <- LATEST VERSION

    POPStarter 13 WIP series :
    POPStarter Revision 13, WIP 05 (2015/06/03) <- LATEST STABLE VERSION
    POPStarter Revision 13, WIP 06, OBT 15 (2016/09/18)
    POPStarter Revision 13, WIP 06, OBT 16 (2016/11/20) <- LATEST BETA VERSION


    POPStarter 13 Compatibility Lists :
    Compatibility List (read-only) [Internal HDD]
    The form for submitting reports [Internal HDD]

    Compatibility List (read-only) [USB Device]
    The form for submitting reports [USB Device]

    Compatibility List (read-only) [SMB]
    The form for submitting reports [SMB]


    More POPStarter 13 useful stuff :
    POPStarter Wiki with Tool(s) made by ShaolinAssassin
    Game Fixes Archive
    Cheat code list (PS1 codes converted to raw ps2rd codes)
    Pfsshell - Transfer VCD files for Popstarter r13 - POPS emulator (a video tutorial made by Waats)
    Conf_elm GENERATOR for OPL & POPSTARTER, by jakdarklight

    IGR Textures :
    dumpkin's set of replacement IGR images (English)

    arkl1t32's packs of IGR themes (English, Polish and French)
    arkl1t32's fixed version of dumpkin's set of replacement IGR images (English)
    arkl1t32's set of replacement IGR images (Polish)

    gledson99's texture packs (English, Portuguese and French)
    gledson99's textures modified by ElPatas (Spanish)
    gledson99's textures modified by ElPatas (English)

    PPFs for injecting dumpkin's English IGR image / GXB's Chinese translation in POPS.ELF, by GXB
    PPF for injecting Tao Pai Pai's IGR image in POPS.ELF, by GXB (Portuguese)

    English and German IGR-themes, by LopoTRI
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2016
  2. blueheaven

    blueheaven Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanx, great work!
     
  3. AKuHAK

    AKuHAK Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks! Great work! Only one question about BIOS. Which BIOS version is used? Original POPS or PSP 6.60? And if original maybe you can provide extracted and working elfs (or just ps2unpacker script) so we can alter BIOS in any time. Or just provide elfs and kelf with altered bios :) Why i ask for this purpose: because there is at least 3 games: Biohazard 3 Last Escape, Einhandler, Legacy of Kain... and maybe something else that is working on psp BIOS but isn't working at original BIOS.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2013
  4. DaSA

    DaSA Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    106
    Great work, krHACKen, thank you!

    Did somebody try? Sadly CUE2POPS crashes everytime I launch it.... :grief:
     
  5. blueheaven

    blueheaven Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Use it from your root drive C: or D: or whatever root.
    Run cmd with administrator privileges.

    It doesn't crash, but i get an error using it:

     
  6. DaSA

    DaSA Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    106
    That's how I did try, but without any success. It crashes for me (I never get your error message).
     
  7. blueheaven

    blueheaven Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try downloading it again, maybe it's corrupted?

    This is how my cmd looks:
    The name of the .bin in the cue file is correct, it seems that cue2pops cannot find the path to the .bin file....
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2013
  8. AKuHAK

    AKuHAK Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    4
    As for me everything is working fine!!! Great app!!! Thanks.
    Tested on Win7 x86, winXp x86
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2013
  9. blueheaven

    blueheaven Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice :)
    I'm running w7 x64, could that be the problem?

    Hmmm..
    Same error on Virtual XP.

    Where did you place your cue and bin files, in the same folder as cue2pops?
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2013
  10. krHACKen

    krHACKen Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    223
    It's the original BIOS, minus the OSD/PS logo. Not sure but I think that the PSP POPS BIOS and the PS2 POPS BIOS have the same kernel. Got a US copy of Castlevania, I'll test it ASAP.


    Please try this : CUE2POPS_v1_UNPACKED.zip


    Occurs when :
    - The .BIN file is not in the same directory than the .CUE file
    or
    - The cue sheet contains the full path of the .BIN file, but the user has moved it to another location (or the dump is some pirated CDRWIN image:wink-new:).

    Solution :
    1) Open the cue in a text editor. If it has the full path of the .bin, truncate it and just leave the file name.
    Example : BEFORE -> "C:\SOME DIRECTORY\THE GAME.BIN", AFTER -> "THE GAME.BIN"
    2) Make sure that the .BIN and the .CUE are in the same folder.

    The debug build may also help you to figure out what went wrong :
    [​IMG]
    "BIN Path =" (below "CUE Path =") is the .BIN that the program takes as input, and it depends of what is written in the input cue sheet.



    Now that's frustrating. I've encountered a critical bug that was fixed in the previous POPStarter revision. For some reason it surfaced again :
    [video=youtube_share;DjdSOHgZkZM]http://youtu.be/DjdSOHgZkZM[/video]
    The partition name is PP.SYPHON_FILTER_UK
    The created VMC folder is SYPHON_FILTER_UKS

    A character came out of fucking nowhere... I don't know how or whjy it happens yet. Mmmm, if that random char isn't an ASCII char, it could potentially prevent POPS from saving/accessing the VMCs.
     
  11. blueheaven

    blueheaven Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same error with the debug exe, can you post the contents of your Castlevania.cue file?
     
  12. DaSA

    DaSA Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    106
    Thanks krHACKen, I found my mistake, thanks to your debug screenshot.

    I was running in cmd :

    instead of

    A way better with it!

    Hope you can fix your new problem. Too bad...
     
  13. blueheaven

    blueheaven Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanx!
    It's workin' now :) (I feel stupid...)
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2013
  14. AKuHAK

    AKuHAK Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ok succesfully convert the games but... but i cannot launch any game with portable and launcher bundles. I was change path to PP.POPS-00001. When I launch any elf - it shows me just black screen.
    __common/POPS/disc0
    PP.POPS-00001/IMAGE0.VCD
    PP.POPS-00001/EXECUTE.ELF

    IMAGE0.VCD - just simple renamed disc0 (for tests)

    When I launch one of 2 elfs (of course with changed PP.POPS-00001 and then zero bytes) it just show me black screen. And yes it creates save folder __common/POPS/POPS-00001/ with 2 saves.

    very weird - cause PSone logo can be used as simple debug message. - If there is PS logo that means that you everything make right except image. But for know error handling is almost impossible (black screen just black screen).
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2013
  15. DaSA

    DaSA Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    106
    I got same result as you with both elfs, AKuHAK.

    I wasnt sure about my elf edit, so I created a partition named PP.I_AM_THE_GAME_PARTITION_NAME and used the unedited portable & launcher elfs, without any success too.

    Btw, what do you mean by "mount" a partition? Create it? Coz I dont find any option in uLe to mount.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2013
  16. krHACKen

    krHACKen Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    223
    Done. SLUS-00067 BSODed after I pressed START at the title screen. L1+Start+Select still works.


    Apparently happens only with the KELF. LAUNCHER and PORTABLE bundles didn't put that stupid "S". Since my packer outputs ELFs that can run in a KELF, EXECUTE.KELF uses a special payload. That payload might be responsible of the bug...


    Like said in the other topic, the tool supports drag & drop. So if you don't want to specify a command and an output file, you can simply drag and drop the cue to the CUE2POPS.EXE:very_drunk:. It will output the file as "NAMEOFTHECUE.VCD" in the BIN/CUE directory. For example, if the cue name is "tekken 3.cue", it will output the file as "tekken 3.VCD".


    Strange that you both encountered that problem. I've tested the launcher ELF and the portable ELF with Bishi Bashi and a UK copy of Syphon Filter without any problem...
    [video=youtube_share;LCCIIRln-vE]http://youtu.be/LCCIIRln-vE[/video]
    LAUNCHER.ELF :
    [​IMG]
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    [​IMG]

    I meant open/enter/go into. uLe does not have a user option to mount partitions, it mounts the partition by itself when the user selects it. I've used the term "mount" in the README in case the user manipulates the PS2HDD with a command line client...
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2013
  17. blueheaven

    blueheaven Rapidly Rising Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    I get a corrupted icon when i create the partition.

    Partition (size 128MB):
    PP.SLPS-02034

    inside:
    IMAGE0.VCD (= converted game SLPS-02034) and
    EXECUTE.KELF

    Edit:

    i tried with the portable launcher, but just BSOD.

    With LAUNCHER.ELF it looks like the EXECUTE.ELF is launched, because the HDD spins up, but then BSOD.

    L1 + START and SELECT not working...
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2013
  18. DaSA

    DaSA Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    106
    Yes, I could make it work (on the PP.I_AM... partition)!

    :dejection:Shame one me, I missed one step, that's why it did not work previously...:dejection:

    __________

    When I was testing Sotn with the POPS-00001 emulator version, I had to wait like 10 minutes until the game begins (Black screen too)...

    __________

    Thanks for the tip buddy, I forgot about that.

    __________

    Ok about "mounting". I was affraid I missed something.

    __________

    Did you make some compatibilty comparaison between your POPStarter and the POPS-00001 emulator version?
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2013
  19. krHACKen

    krHACKen Enthusiastic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    223
    It's Cotton Original, right ?
    Did you write "Fantastic Night Dreams" as title0 and "Cotton Original" as title1 ? If so, that may be the cause of the corrupted icon. title0 and title1 can't have more than 16 characters.
    Otherwise, I've posted 3 sample partition headers in Pastie #7438881.
    [​IMG]


    Other than WipeOut XL and the JPN version of Tekken 3, no. Some games that froze at the PS logo with POPS-00001 should work now.
    Like AKuHAK said, it got difficult to know where in the boot sequence a game freezes, since I've totally removed the PS logo shit. The HDD activity LED and the video signal change help a little, haha.
    I didn't see a game that worked with POPS-00001 and doesn't work with POPStarter. I hope that the OSD code removal didn't break the compatibility...

    Oh by the way, did anyone get GSM to work with that POPStarter release ? Or does the POPStarter code crash/override/destroy it ?
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2013
  20. DaSA

    DaSA Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    106
    Got it working I guess, because the only PAL game I tried is displayed centered with it. .
     

Share This Page