SECURITY NOTICE: Please read the security notice in the site help forum immediately.

Progamer Retroelectroniks Supergun, anyone have one?

Discussion in 'Arcade and Supergun' started by Kuririn84, Oct 16, 2016.

  1. Kuririn84

    Kuririn84 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    96
    While browsing ebay I came across this supergun,
    http://www.retroelectronik.com/en/s...autofirevoltmeter-included-5674864654514.html

    It looks like a quality all in one set up, has anyone gotten a hold of one of these? I really like the terminal blocks, it allows for a lot of customization. Any important features that are missing that I haven't noticed?

    I've been wanting to build a supergun for years, and I have the technical means to do so. I just haven't had the time. These go for $80 shipped on ebay, paying that might be worth my time.

    Is there any advantage to building one myself, compared to just buying this?
     
  2. MottZilla

    MottZilla Guardian of the Forum

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    4,819
    Likes Received:
    43
    The advantage to building one yourself would be cost and freedom to design what you want. The board you linked might be a challenge if you plan on putting it into a case and not just having a bare pcb for a Supergun with all sorts of stuff plugged into it from all sides.
     
  3. Logan McCloud

    Logan McCloud Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had several Supergun over the years, some of them from Vogatek (from Mark 1 to Mark 5), some were handmade, etc.

    A couple of weeks ago I bought one of this, and I can assure you without any doubt, this one if probable the most complete solution that you can find out there today, even you have a -5v line generator.

    Is not the cheapest one, but I think it really worth it.

    Best regards.
     
  4. Kuririn84

    Kuririn84 Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    96
    Thanks for us know you got one! It was interested in it because it did seem like a complete solution, thanks for confirming that!
     
  5. Logan McCloud

    Logan McCloud Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    No problem, If you want to know any particular details about this Supergun, just let me know.

    Best regards.
     
  6. Trenton_net

    Trenton_net AKA SUPERCOM32

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    42
    I am also thinking about this super gun. However, not having a case, as well as an easy way to connect power (Do I really need a PC power supply!?) is kind of a turn off. Is there any solution to this, or maybe another supergun kit that might be a little more user friendly in those departments? I take it that non of these kits output HDMI or component generally? Only SCART or VGA?
     
  7. Logan McCloud

    Logan McCloud Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello.

    You dont need to use a PC PSU on this Supergun, you can use a regular Arcade PSU and wire it directly into the screw connectors near the ATX PSU connector.

    Regarding the hi-res output, you will need to use a CGA to VGA converter (the cheap Chinese ones works well) and then add a VGA to HDMI adapter.

    Anyway, if you plan to use an Arcade board with a high-res TV without a rescaler or scanline generator, the result will be awful.

    Best regards.
     

Share This Page