SECURITY NOTICE: Please read the security notice in the site help forum immediately.

powerpak or 8N?

Discussion in 'Everdrive N8' started by Millionaire2K, Apr 2, 2013.

  1. Millionaire2K

    Millionaire2K Rising Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello. Does anyone know of any clone system the Powerpak or 8N MAY work on? I know its hit or miss with all clones. But my kids want a clone system to take with them on Vacation with 2 or 3 working flash carts. So regular HW will be used on the carts at home but on Vacation and on the road a clone must be used. Any info will be of help and thanks in advance.
     
  2. Mack

    Mack <B>Site Supporter 2012</B><BR><B>Site Supporter 20

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think it's called the EverDrive N8 not really sure on that cart either , I do have a PowerPak though not sure on clone consoles but I heard they do work.
     
  3. Millionaire2K

    Millionaire2K Rising Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought is was N8 but forum says 8N so I went with that.
     
  4. StoneAgeGamer

    StoneAgeGamer Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes forum is wrong and has yet to be fixed.

    The issue with asking which is better here is that this is an EverDrive forum. Not a general flash cart forum. Although occasionally people do ask such questions and people generally people are honest, you are bound to get a biased opinion most likely here.
     
  5. Millionaire2K

    Millionaire2K Rising Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is why my question was not a which is better. It was a "What clone system the Powerpak or 8N MAY work on"
     
  6. StoneAgeGamer

    StoneAgeGamer Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    2
    RetroUSB states right on the PowerPak's page that it does not work on clones. I am not sure if it does or not. I know KRIKzz said that the N8 does work on clones. Personally I would suggest not using clones for flash carts.
     
  7. Millionaire2K

    Millionaire2K Rising Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    I plan to only use clones when on Vacation. I can't bring my 3 consoles with me. Ps. I sent you another PM. Thanks in advance.
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2013
  8. wilykat

    wilykat Site Supporter 2013

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    41
    On another forum that deals with beta mappers for PowerPak, there's also mention that a certain recent revision of a clone worked with PowerPak but it's still hit or miss.

    Nintendo hasn't been properly cloned yet, always something wrong with the clone like a missing line or incorrect sound.
     
  9. Panthera

    Panthera Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    What clone system the Powerpak or 8N MAY work on"

    Hi, I registered on this forum some time ago, but only now I´m posting. My name is Vanessa and I am from Sao Paulo, Brazil. I got my everdrive N8 this week and I´m loving it. I am a retro games collector and have a few NES clones that were released here and made tests with the everdrive on them today and I would like to share, maybe these clones can have international versions too. Here is the list:

    [​IMG]
    Pro System 8 = works (needs a 60-72 pin cartridge converter)

    [​IMG]
    Top System (dual slot) = works

    [​IMG]
    Turbo Game (dual slot) = works

    [​IMG]
    Dynavision 3 (dual slot) = works

    [​IMG]
    Phantom System = works (needs a 60-72 pin cartridge converter)

    :smile-new:
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2013
  10. sparksterz

    sparksterz Spirited Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    2
    Wow, those are some of the most confused consoles I've ever seen.
     
  11. sayin999

    sayin999 Officer at Arms

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,339
    Likes Received:
    78
    Wow does Top System do both Famicom and Nes games?
     
  12. kyo86sg

    kyo86sg Intrepid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    21
    THanks Vanessa!!!!!!! That was most helpful!!!!!!!!! Do you mine showing your massive NES/SNES collection be it original or bootleg?
     
  13. Panthera

    Panthera Newly Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, top system do both famicom and nes games. Turbo game and Dynavision 3 also does NES/Famicom games. About my NES/SNES collection half are original and half bootleg (of course my preference is for original itens, but I like those clones because they are different). About original consoles, I have a NES and a Famicom AV :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2013

Share This Page