SECURITY NOTICE: Please read the security notice in the site help forum immediately.

PC9801 floppies data recovery

Discussion in 'NEC PC-88 and PC-98+ PC-FXGA' started by Toyoloog, Oct 24, 2016.

1. Toyoloog

Toyoloog Member

Hi everyone!
    I'm new to the PC9801 scene and after reading several good articles on these message boards I still have a few questions left which I hope someone can answer.

This isn't game related but rather software used in Japan's motorsport.

I recently bought an dedicated EPROM pogrammer to reprogram the ECU of my car. When it arrived it came with 4 3.5" floppy's and a manual stating I need either a NEC PC9801 or EPSON PC286 to use the included software. After googling these terms and reading some interesting topics here I decided to see if any of my (all windows based PC's) floppy drives would be able to read the data to back-up. (I'm aware now I need a 3-mode drive) Unfortunately I have no such luck, various operating systems give various faults.
    I don't have a actual PC98 machine (yet)

Here's what I've tried so far:

Dell Optiplex GX270 with windowx XP 32 (No 3-mode available in BIOS)
    MSI K9mm-V with windowx XP64 (1.2MB available in BIOS but only at 5,25" drive)
    MSI Sniper M5 (USB floppy only)

These are the drives I've tried so far between the various PC's:
    USB Toshiba PA3109U-1FFD
    Mitsumi D359T5
    Mitsumi D359T6
    Sony MPF420-1
    NEC FD1231M
    TEAC FD235HG-C629

Software:
    Omniflop w drivers & registration
    Disk Immage 13B
    VIA 3-mode FDC drivers

Disk Image 13b with internal & external drive gives an exeption C00000014 when I try to read the disc on both 32 and 64 bit systems, it's like it doesn't even recognize there's a disk in there.
    Formatting a IBM 3.5 1,44MB floppy to 1.2MB works fine under the command prompt so that showd at lease the USB drive is 3-mode compatible right?